Past Meetup

Tech Talk: Remote Tech Teams, The Future Of Work?

This Meetup is past

237 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

No start-up to scale-up journey is ever the same. There are frequent and unique roadblocks to overcome. Tech in Motion Boston invites you to join us on November 2nd, as our stellar panel debates the pros and cons of a rising trend in our industry... remote tech teams. Whether you are part of a remote tech team, or manage one, we hope you can attend for a night of laughs and shared experiences!

Moderator:

Jessica Meher, Mentor, Techstars (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jessicameher/)

Jessica is a results-driven marketing leader and speaker in the tech industry with a passion for building remarkable teams. She was previously VP of Enterprise Marketing at InVision, a leading example of the fully remote company, where she managed and developed a high performing distributed team. Jessica has 10+ years of experience in developing, managing, and leading demand creation, lead generation, branding, and thought-leadership strategies for high-growth companies.

Panelists:

David Pitkin, Director of Engineering, Carbon Black (https://www.linkedin.com/in/dpitkin/)

David Pitkin has been remotely mixed working and managing for the past decade. Always at the cutting edge of technology he’s currently in the engineering leadership team at Carbon Black.

Gwen Betts, Director of UX, Rapid (https://www.linkedin.com/in/gwenbetts/)7

Gwen is a results-driven, user-centric designer that focuses on the end-to-end holistic picture. From agency to startup, she’s held design and creative management positions where her work has contributed to revenue and company growth. She is spirited about building brands and making them successful through the lens of experience design, via product, marketing, or services.

Currently as a director of UX at Rapid7, Gwen oversees the user experience of the Komand product, and works with a variety of internal teams across offices to facilitate open communication and cross-functional alignment with regards to her team. She has also successfully managed a remote team in her past, and values the benefits it can provide to team morale, product innovation, and more.

Mark Schnittman, CTO, Owl Labs (https://www.linkedin.com/in/markschnittman/)

Mark Schnittman is a roboticist and technical leader with a passion for helping remote workers. He's worked with robotics and software teams for the past 15 years, initially as a local employee at iRobot, and later as a remote employee at a San Francisco robotics startup. Today he is the cofounder and CTO of Owl Labs where he manages a team of software engineers, half who are remote.

Owl Labs is the creator of the Meeting Owl (http://www.owllabs.com/meeting-owl), the first intelligent 360° video conferencing camera that makes meetings inclusive and effective for remote employees.

Tacita Morway, Senior Engineering Manager, Salsify (https://www.linkedin.com/in/tacita/)

Tacita has worked in office environments, cubicle spaces, open floor plans and as a remote engineer, and has managed teams of both remote and on-site contributors. Currently she is a Senior Engineering Manager, at Salsify, where she works in support of a 30 person (and growing) engineering team.

Event Schedule:

6:00 - 6:45 PM - Networking Hour, light apps and drinks provided
6:45 - 7:00 PM - Opening Remarks
7:00 - 7:45 PM - The Great Debate!
7:45 - 8:00 PM - Q&A
8:00 - 8:30 PM - Conclude Networking

----

As always we would like to thank our sponsors Jobspring Partners (http://www.jobspringpartners.com/tech-jobs/boston) and Workbridge Associates (http://www.workbridgeassociates.com/tech-jobs/boston) for sponsoring this month’s event. Interested in sponsoring a Tech in Motion event? Click Here!