November 2016: Leveraging cognitive science for topic-based authoring


Leveraging Cognitive Science for Topic-Based Authoring

Explore the science that makes for effective topic-based authoring with DITA. Semantic specialization should be a leading differentiator for selecting DITA for projects, yet it is one of its most underutilized features.

Information Typing is truly at the heart of DITA, yet it is one of the most poorly understood concepts behind creating effective DITA topics. Content reuse is cited as a primary reason for moving to DITA, yet it is one of the hardest features to deliver expected gains in reliability, efficiency, and consistency over time.

Join us and Rob Hanna to learn how to look at information from a new light and talk about how DITA can naturally be extended to accommodate enterprise content using principles of cognitive science.

Rob will demonstrate how content should be broken down and organized for better comprehension, retention, and use. Rob will present research gathered from luminaries in the field of cognitive science to better understand how we need to focus attention on greater precision with our content standards for writing topic-based content.

The Speaker: Rob Hanna ECMs

Rob Hanna is the President and Chief Information Architect at Precision Content Authoring Solutions Inc. in Mississauga, Canada. He is a professional technical communicator and leading expert in structured XML authoring, DITA and content management. Over the course of his career, Rob has consulted to or worked for several Fortune 500 companies including Cisco Systems Inc., Sun Microsystems, Xerox, Eli Lilly, Research In Motion, among others.

In 2014, Rob was awarded the rank of Fellow of the Society for Technical Communication (STC) and earned the Enterprise Content Management Specialist (ECMs) designation from AIIM. Rob is a member of the OASIS DITA Technical Committee working on the Technical Documentation Subcommittee. He is an executive member of AIIM’s First Canadian Chapter. He has served as a national director for the STC and as the vice-chairman for the STC Certification Commission.