What we're about

This is a group for people who are interested in contemporary fiction.

We meet on Sunday afternoons at the Refectory cafe in Southwark Cathedral. Newcomers are always welcome, and the meetings are friendly, and informal, so everyone can participate in the discussion. The Refectory has a cosy indoor space for the winter, and an al fresco terrace for the summer.

I pick novels that have won an award, and are scoring at least 3.8 on Goodreads - especially if they have also caught the attention of film producers, and been made into a movie.

This approach of selecting the most popular and filmic award winning fiction may appeal to anyone who would like a great read, but is unsure where to start.

Recommendations for future meetings are always welcome, especially if they meet the above criteria.


Past events (44)

The Accidental Tourist by Anne Tyler

The Refectory

The End of the Affair by Graham Greene

The Refectory

Winter's Bone by Daniel Woodrell

The Refectory

Captain Correlli's Mandolin by Louis de Bernieres

The Refectory

Photos (4)