What we're about

This is a group for anyone interested in walking​ and exploring local Toronto history, and understanding place. These walking tours provide a peek into how Toronto came about in 1793, transformed into a city in 1834, and turned itself into a world capital during the turbulent years of the twentieth century. Everyone is welcome, so get out and explore the city by the lake.

Upcoming events (4+)

Historic West Mimico, and the Lakeshore Psychiatric Hospital (NEW)

Toronto Public Library - New Toronto Branch

Elizabeth Simcoe named the area now known as Mimico for the thousands of pigeons that blackened the sky at the western end of the settlement. Mimico was originally located at the confluence of Mimico Creek and Dundas Street.

William Gamble, opened a sawmill and built a settlement for the workers nearby. Etobicoke's first church, Christ Church was opened on Church Street which became Royal York Road. Mimico is a walkable neighbourhood and a great place to stroll and discover our amazing history.

The Lakeshore Hospital was built in 1888 as the Mimico Asylum, its doors opened on January 21, 1889.

The original idea for the hospital was a series of cottages designed by Doctor Joseph Workman who wanted a resort type feel to the hospital. The architect was Kivas Tully, who worked with gardener Samuel Matheson. Most of the buildings were built by the patients themselves, and helped with laundry duties, and tended to the vast gardens.

This walking tour is for all levels and walkers. The tour begins and ends at the New Toronto Public Library Branch at 110 Eleventh Street just south of Lakeshore. Please bring your mask, as it is required for the walk.

This tour is tip based and greatly appreciated.

Historic East Mimico, and Humber Bay Shores (NEW)

Mimico Square

This walking tour is a continuation of the West Mimico Tour and concentrates on the historic area known as Humber Bay Shores. This is a different tour with a far different perspective on Toronto history than the previous tour, Historic West Mimico and the Lakeshore Psychiatric Hospital. Hope to see you at the Bay!

Humber Bay Shores was considered a summer retreat in the 19th century, with city residents from the core heading west to the pleasure grounds near the mouth of the Humber River. Hotels and Inns were built along old Lakeshore Road and these pleasure grounds and gardens which had sprouted along the shore changed into residences and neighbourhoods.

Humber Bay Shores and Mimico share a rich history and amazing walking trails and vistas which hug the Lake Ontario shoreline, a place of discovery and relaxation year round. A great place to explore!

This walking tour is for all levels and walkers. The tour begins and ends at Mimico Square at Lakeshore Blvd W and Mimico Avenue in Etobicoke. Please bring your mask, as it is required for the walk.

This tour is tip based and greatly appreciated.

East of Sherbourne: Allan Gardens (NEW)

Allan Gardens

In 1819, William Allan acquired Park Lot 5, and he built Moss Park estate there. His son George William Allan, 11th mayor of Toronto inherited the estate after his father's death in 1853. In 1855, the land was subdivided.

The Horticultural Gardens opened on 11 September 1860, and with Queen's Park, which opened earlier that day, the two parks are the oldest parks in Toronto.

But the neighbourhood around it has a rich cultural legacy and is a fascinating walk into Old Toronto. Caught in between Moss Park to the south and St. Jamestown to the north, the area has had its challenges, but the architecture and history of the area is somewhat hidden, and a fascinating story awaits the walker.

This walk is for all fitness levels. Please bring your mask, it is required for the walk.

The meeting place for our walking adventure is adjacent to the front doors of Allan Gardens Pavilion in the centre of the Park, just west of Sherbourne Street and south of the dog park. We return to Allan Gardens after the walk.

This tour is tip based and is greatly appreciated.

Historic North Toronto (NEW)

Toronto Public Library - Northern District Branch

A rather romantic view of the naming of Eglinton Avenue came to modern attention with the writings of Henry Scadding. He wrote that Eglinton originated from Eglinton Castle in Scotland. Several early settlers named the hamlet, developing in the area, as the Village of Eglinton based on this gothic castle.

The more accepted view is the story that it was named by the tavern keeper John Montgomery who settled the area in 1830 and named the village after the Earl of Eglinton to whom he believed he had a family connection.

In 1890, the area was incorporated as North Toronto, and in 1912, it was annexed to Toronto. In 1953, Metropolitan Toronto was formed. With rapidly developing suburbs, Metro Toronto widened and interconnected Eglinton and development was accelerated. A rich history is yours to uncover.

This walking tour is for all levels and walkers.

The tour begins at Northern District Library Branch one block north of Eglinton and Yonge and ends at Eglinton Park on Roselawn.

Please bring your mask, as it is required for the walk.

This tour is tip based and greatly appreciated.

Past events (216)

The 1918 Spanish Flu: Impact on Toronto ( BY DEMAND)

Toronto Old City Hall

Photos (204)