This Meetup is past

110 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

CaBi Hack Night is a show & tell of apps and data visualizations about Capital Bikeshare (http://www.capitalbikeshare.com/). We'll be on the 12th-floor lounge of the new WeWork in Crystal City. Doors open at 6:00 for pizza and soft drinks, with speakers starting at 6:30.

• Daniel Gohlke from Motivate (http://www.motivateco.com/), operator of Capital Bikeshare, will talk about the general bike share feed specification (https://github.com/NABSA/gbfs) (see press release (http://www.motivateco.com/news/2016/04/14/motivate-to-offer-system-data-in-more-developer-friendly-format)).

• Anna Petrone (https://twitter.com/1littlevictory) will show her interactive visualization tool for CaBi trip data (http://ec2-52-207-212-11.compute-1.amazonaws.com/) built with Amazon Web Services and Leaflet.

• Amir Farhangi and Matt Triner of District Ninja (http://district.ninja/) will show how they calculated DC neighborhoods with the most CaBi use (http://district.ninja/bikeable-district-ii-dc-neighborhoods-with-the-most-capital-bikeshare-use/).

• Hans Engler will show how he extracts spatio-temporal trip patterns from historic CaBi data.

• Stephen Tu will discuss Montgomery County's Level of Traffic Stress data, and Alex Rixey (http://www.fehrandpeersdc.com/project/alex-rixey-transportation-planner/) will show how Fehr and Peers used the data for CaBi ridership forecasting and measuring low-stress bikeways.

• Dylan Barlett (https://www.dylanbarlett.com/) will show his Python tools (https://bitbucket.org/ArlingtonCounty/bikeshare-trip-history) for working with CaBi trip data.

• David Erickson (https://twitter.com/davebenigno) will show his Elasticsearch Kibana dashboard (https://github.com/derickson/cabi/blob/master/README.md) for CaBi data.

• Michael Schade (http://mvjantzen.com/) will show how he used Processing (http://processing.org/) to create animations for CaBi's 2015 "Station Domination (https://www.capitalbikeshare.com/news/2016/01/05/station-domination-our-top-10-stations-of-2015)" list, and how he made the "A Day with No Metro (http://apps.mobilitylab.org/adaywithnometro.html)" project.

Read what the Washington Post wrote about CaBi Hack Night IV (http://www.meetup.com/Transportation-Techies/events/225539297/): Government transit data gets techies’ gears spinning for new apps (https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/trafficandcommuting/transportation-techies-find-new-ways-to-make-metro-driving-easier/2015/10/24/07841846-67ae-11e5-8325-a42b5a459b1e_story.html). And from Mobility Lab: From Rebalancing to Dock-Blocking: Techies Hack to Make Capital Bikeshare Even More User-Friendly (http://mobilitylab.org/2015/10/28/techies-hack-to-make-capital-bikeshare-even-more-user-friendly/).

Many thanks to our sponsors at WeWork (https://www.wework.com/locations/washington-d-c/crystal-city) and Mobility Lab (http://mobilitylab.org/) for making this event possible!

Our hashtag is #cabihacknight (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23cabihacknight). Speakers' Twitter handles are shown on our background screen (http://mvjantzen.com/meetup/cabihacknight5.html). As always, stay tuned to @techiesdc (https://twitter.com/techiesdc) for updates.