This Meetup is past

146 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

Metro Hack Night is a show & tell of Metro-related apps and data visualizations. We are thrilled to return to WMATA headquarters. We'll be on the first floor; be sure to bring an ID in order to enter the building. Please arrive a bit early, as it will take a while to process everyone through the metal detectors and check IDs.

Courtesy of Urban Insights (http://www.urban-insights.com/), we'll have food available at 6:00. The program begins at 6:30. Our speakers are:

• Ben Shepherd (http://ben.somebody.io/) will show how he used the live train positions API to make dctraintracker.com (https://dctraintracker.com/).

• Andrew Schmadel will share his script for recording WMATA Disruption Reports (http://www.opendatadc.org/dataset/wmata-disruption-reports).

• Sam Winward (https://samwnwrd.squarespace.com/) will display his research into peak and off-peak fares and their hidden influence over ridership decisions.

• Keith Kelly (https://kwkelly.com/) will show how he used historic data to visualize wait times.

• Joe Haaga (https://twitter.com/joe_haaga) will demo his project to compare indirect routes.

• John Paz will show how he used the WMATA API to programmatically build a track circuit diagram (https://github.com/contractdesign/wmata/blob/master/doc/all.svg).

• Christopher Rung (https://christopherrung.com/) will show how he built his WMATAFetcher Swift Cocoapod (https://github.com/clrung/WMATAFetcher) and DC Metro macOS Today Extension (https://github.com/clrung/DCMetroWidget).

• Aaron Margolis, Paul Witt, Catherine Janis, and Sheila Haines will discuss how they used the WMATA Next Train API with machine learning to better predict train delays and arrivals.

• Sarah Kleinman (https://www.mapbox.com/about/team/sarah-kleinman/) will show how she built a live-updating map of the DC Metro with Mapbox (https://www.mapbox.com/) and the WMATA API.

• Sanghong Yoo will present Metroview, WMATA's own internal tool for non-GIS users.

• Michael Eichler will show he uses Tableau to visualize WMATA stats (https://public.tableau.com/profile/planitmetro#!/).

To build your own Metro apps, hacks, and visualizations, find WMATA's open data via PlanItMetro's data-download (http://planitmetro.com/tag/data-download/) tag, or use their developer tools (https://developer.wmata.com/).

Many thanks to our sponsors at Mobility Lab (http://mobilitylab.org/) and WMATA (http://www.wmata.com/) for making this meetup possible.

Want to see what happened at Metro Hack Night V (http://www.meetup.com/Transportation-Techies/events/231353360/)? See Crowd control: Simulating congestion in the D.C. Metro (http://mobilitylab.org/2016/07/05/crowd-control-simulating-congestion-d-c-metro/) and MetroHackNight V (https://blog.graystreetsolutions.com/metrohacknight-v-1a2cb810832b).

Follow @techiesdc (https://twitter.com/techiesdc) for "Transportation Techies" updates. Use #metrohacknight (https://twitter.com/hashtag/metrohacknight) for your own tweets.