This Meetup is past

190 people went

Details

Bike Hack Night is a show & tell of bicycle-related apps, data visualizations, and gadgets. We are thrilled to be holding this event in conjunction with TRB (http://www.trb.org/AnnualMeeting/AnnualMeeting.aspx), the annual conference put on by the Transportation Research Board (http://www.trb.org/) of the National Academies (http://www.nationalacademies.org/).

We'll be in room 102A at the Washington Convention Center (http://www.dcconvention.com/). The room is near 7th & L; enter via the south side of L St or use the main entrance at Mt Vernon Pl (see floorplans (http://www.dcconvention.com/attachments/convention-center/floorplans-apr2011.aspx)).

Doors open at 6:00. Speakers begin at 6:30. Due to high demand, and given a historic ratio of no-shows, our RSVP ceiling is higher than the room's capacity of 130. This means the room could be full before everyone arrives. Thus, an RSVP does not guarantee a seat.

• Tom Lee (https://twitter.com/tjl) will show how he collected bike safety data using ultrasonic sensors, ESP8266 wifi microcontrollers and smartphones.

• Arlene Ducao will show how the MindRider (http://mindriderdata.com/) biosensor tracks cyclists and share dataviz from its users.

• Fraser Mclaughlin (https://www.linkedin.com/in/fraser-mclaughlin-5743a842) will talk about bicycle traffic patterns in Arlington by using clustering analysis on Eco-Counter (http://www.eco-compteur.com/en/) data.

• Timo Hoffmann (http://twitter.com/timohoffmann) and Justin Eichel (https://ca.linkedin.com/in/justineichel) from Miovision (http://miovision.com/) will show how they use computer vision and deep learning to turn videos of bike traffic into count and other data.

• Andrew Lovett-Barron (http://andrewlb.com/) will talk about how he designed and built Pedal Pedal Club (http://www.pedalpedal.club/).

• Drew Dara-Abrams (http://drew.dara-abrams.com/) will give an overview of the bike routing capabilities in Mapzen (https://mapzen.com/)'s Valhalla.

• Stuart Lynn will show how Carto (https://carto.com/) is used to visualize bike sharing networks and interpret bike traffic patterns.

Many thanks to Mobility Lab (http://mobilitylab.org/) for sponsoring us!

See what happened at Bike Hack Night VI (https://www.meetup.com/Transportation-Techies/events/231755172/): From routes to reality: Improving biking data with better context (http://mobilitylab.org/2016/09/12/routes-reality-biking-data-context/), and WABA designing a regional bike lane map to inform a more equitable network (http://mobilitylab.org/2016/09/09/waba-regional-bike-lane-map/).

Our hashtag is #bikehacknight (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23bikehacknight). Follow @techiesdc (https://twitter.com/techiesdc) for "Transportation Techies" updates.