Implementing IoT Architectures using Open Source Software

This is a past event

168 people went

Needs a location

Details

This is a virtual Meetup occurring at 8AM Pacific time (11AM Eastern, 4PM Central European Time). For help with your timezone calculation, refer to this (http://time.is/compare/0800_2_Nov_2016_in_PDT).

The meetup will be held on Google Hangouts and you will be able to watch the live stream directly on YouTube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B68gwlV3LkE

In this session Benjamin will provide some insight into the key characteristics of IoT solutions, and in particular the three typical software stacks one has to deploy on the devices (sensors and actuators), on the gateways, and in cloud/server backends. He will be giving an overview of the open source projects available today that can be used for implementing these stacks, with a particular focus on Eclipse IoT (http://iot.eclipse.org/) projects.

Eclipse IoT (https://iot.eclipse.org) has 26 open source projects delivering the technology needed for implementing IoT devices, IoT gateways and IoT cloud platforms.

Speaker: Benjamin Cabé

Benjamin Cabé, Internet of Things enthusiast and evangelist at the Eclipse Foundation (http://www.eclipse.org/), has years of experience in connecting things, big and small, together. He is advocating the use of open source technologies to build Internet of Things solutions, which led him to co-found the Eclipse IoT Working Group in 2011. This working group has become a thriving community of 25+ open source projects, hundreds of developers, and thousands of users who are creating together the open source technology needed for IoT. He blogs at http://blog.benjamin-cabe.com .