addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-leftarrow-right-10x10arrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcredit-cardcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobe--smallglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1languagelaunch-new-window--smalllight-bulblinklocation-pinlockm-swarmSearchmailmediummessagesminusmobilemoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahooyoutube

UX Book Club DC Message Board › Introductions

Introductions

William K.
William_Klemt
Washington, DC
Hey all,

My name is William Klemt, I'm an information architect and user researcher here in DC. I want to thank Andrew for hosting this meetup for the last few years. When I was getting started in the UX industry just a couple years ago the UX Book Club was by far my favorite meetup and helped guide my learning and thinking at a critical period.

Reflecting my young tenure in UX, I'm going to start with books that many of you have likely already read. Books Like Steve Krug's Don't Make Me Think and JJG's Elements of User Experience Design that I hope will bring people new to UX or interested in transitioning.

I also look forward to discussing books that take a broader, more philosophical, look at the world through a UX lens like Peter Morville's Intertwingled and Abby Covert's How to Make Sense of Any Mess. Also, if people are amenable, I'd like to look at books outside of the UX genre that may be read from a UX perspective like Marie Kondo's Spark Joy.