addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Kelly W. P.


Las Vegas, NV
Hometown: Las Vegas

Member since:

September 8, 2012


Please share details on you’re cycling goals. What type of bike do you have? Do you have all the bike gear? Have you posted a picture? Did you read the RSVP rules on the –“Pages”- link? Will you sign the liability form?

My goals are pretty much just to ride more and maybe to do some organized rides. I actually would like to do a triathlon some time. I'm a pretty natural swimmer, so I think I could handle the first two parts pretty easily after some training. The running part would be the big challenge for me. I did read the RSVP rules and will sign the Liability Form.

What major cross streets do you live near? Do you know of any routes in town you'd like to share? How far are you willing to drive for a cycling event? Are you here for exercise and/or socializing?

I just moved [masked]), so now I live near Eastern and Wigwam. I first started training by riding up and down Boulder Hwy. because it has really decent bike lanes. I didn't really know any established bike routes before riding with this group. Pretty much just trial and error. Since I don't drive, I'm not willing to drive anywhere for cycling events. :^) I don't have a problem riding the bike to wherever everybody else is meeting, but having to get up incredibly early in the morning to get there on time can be an issue (especially in winter when it is cold). My average range right now is about 50 miles, but I do 10 or 20 miles over that fairly regularly. I can exercise on my own, so I guess I would have to say that I'm here for the social aspect.

What days of the week are best for you to ride? Do know bike maintenance? Do you need guidance or help with a bike or accessory purchase info?

Right now weekdays are best. I have a pretty good road bike (Specialized Allez C-2) that I just bought and I also have a fixie (Tommaso Augusta) that I ride when commuting from here to there. I'd like to learn some maintenance stuff. Outside of the basics, I don't know very much in that regard. I actually was going to volunteer with the local bike co-op pretty much for that reason, but they are impossible to track down and don't return messages.

How long have you been riding? How often do you ride? What is your average distance and speed? Are you comfortable with riding on the streets? Or do you prefer bike paths? Have you done or are you interested in training for full centuries?

I've been riding almost exclusively about three years now. I try to ride every day during the week, at least. Most of the time I ride in traffic, so I'm pretty comfortable on the road. Right now I probably average between 125 and 150 miles a week, but I'd like to increase that. Doing a century would be awesome. Update: I completed the 102 mile route at the 2012 Viva Bike Vegas ride and it was pretty awesome. Next up the Tour de Cure century ride in April. -

If you are an Advanced cyclist, are you ok riding with less experienced cyclists and are you willing to share knowledge with the group? ANYONE: Would you be willing to lead a group ride (group MUST stay together) or become an Assistant Organizer?

I'm don't think I qualify as an advanced cyclist. At best, I'm probably an intermediate rider, since everything I do know is just from climbing on a bike and going.


I ride a lot (compared to the avg. person). Mostly, from here to wherever I need to go, since I haven't owned a car for about 6 yrs. and have ridden almost exclusively for about 3 yrs. Prior to joining this group, I hadn't ridden any organized rides.

This Meetup is community funded


Member dues are used to:
  • Cover Meetup costs
  • Encourage more engaged members


Members are not required to pay dues, but are encouraged to chip in.

Cancel dues at any time.

Dues are billed each year.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy