Conf & Coffee 2018 β˜•οΈ

This is a past event

5 people went

Unbounce

Suite #400 - 401 W. Georgia St. Β· Vancouver, BC

How to find us

Follow the signs to Conf & Coffee 2018, can't miss them πŸ’―

Location image of event venue

Details

Hey, y'all!

Conf & Coffee 2018 is happening. And it's happening soon! April 14th and 15th, which is the weekend after the weekend, after this weekend πŸ€”

** Meetup.com RSVPs are disabled for this event. Tickets are available here https://www.picatic.com/confcoffee **

Conf & Coffee is a full-weekend, community-focused conference by and for the Vancouver tech scene. Web, mobile, UI/UX, blockchain, functional programming, startups, language introductions, and more!

Coffee and food provided. Check! βœ…

SCHEDULE:

Tech Talks πŸ’πŸ½

* JavaScript: The weird and not-so-weird parts β€” David Luecke, @daffl
* Natural Language Processing and Machine Learning in JavaScript β€” David Luecke, @daffl
* What Makes a Great Developer β€” Kalv Sandhu, @kalv
* Learn to Draw with CSS β€” Alicja Raszkowska, @mamrotynka
* Working Backwards: Outcomes & Goals β€” James Doyle, @james2doyle
* Switching to Elixir for Fun and Profit β€” Paul Ruescher, @paulruescher
* Building a React Component Library β€” Leonardo Faria, @leozera
* 10 Mistakes You’ll Make as a New Lead β€” Bryant D. Jones, @sprybry
* Typing a LISP β€” Jim Duey, @toccata_lang
* Functional Object-Oriented Design in Ruby β€” Alex Taylor, @mctaylorpants
* Because Haskell β€” Roman Gonzalez, @romanandreg
* Event Sourcing Made Simple β€” Philippe Creux, @pcreux

Coffee Talks β˜•

* Good, cheap coffee at home with the Aeropress β€” Ivar Vasara, @ivarv
* Coffee 100: The Science of Coffee β€” Christopher Rogers, @cp_rodgers
* Sourcing Coffee β€” Christopher Rogers, @cp_rodgers

Workshops πŸ’»

* How to Do HTML Email and Not Hate It Afterwards β€” Alicja Raszkowska, @mamrotynka
* Getting Started with Elm β€” Brian Holt, @bholtbholt
* NodeBots β€” Elgin-Skye McLaren, @elginskye
* Build and Code with Raspberry Pi β€” Christopher Harrold, @charrold303
* Learn Elixir & Build a Real Time Chat App β€” Brooklyn Zelenka, @expede

Panel πŸ—£οΈ
* Blockchain: So Hot Right Now

Panelists:
Chelsea Palmer, @IMmsGNU
Boris Mann, @bmann
Dan Merino, @danmerino
Taylor Singlet
and others.

Go here for more details: https://www.conf.coffee/

Full-access 2-day tickets are:
* $50
* $35 (students)
* There is a scholarship fund provided by our generous community members like you, to encourage the inclusion of traditionally under-represented groups and early-career developers. Please message the organizers to check if your ticket can be covered πŸ’›

Note: RSVP-ing to this is disabled. You should use the link below!

Go here for tickets: https://www.picatic.com/confcoffee

Tickets include snacks and lunches. πŸ₯™

MUST HAVE: ✨

A positive attitude and zero tolerance for stereotypes. See our Code of Conduct (https://www.meetup.com/Code-Coffee-Vancouver/pages/19153519/Code_of_Conduct/).

OUR SPONSORS: πŸ™πŸ½

A big thank you to our sponsors and their commitment to supporting our community. We couldn't do this without them!

* Kickstarter (https://kickstarter.com/)
* Unbounce (https://unbounce.com/)
* Red Academy (https://redacademy.com/)
* Elysian Coffee (http://elysiancoffee.com/)
* Finhaven (https://www.finhaven.com/)
* Adobe I/O (https://www.adobe.io/)
* Alanna Munro (https://alannamunro.com/)

*POST SCRIPT* βœ‰οΈ

** Please keep in mind that when you add a comment it emails the entire group. Feel free to contact the organizers directly if you have a question about how our events happen, etc. Thanks! **

See you soon,
Jenn, Phil, Brooke, Darryl, Wendy, Rose, and Manil πŸ’›