Demo Day 7

This is a past event

61 people went

Price: $10.00 /per person
Location image of event venue

Details

RSVP now for Demo Day 7 (http://www.meetup.com/hacks-hackers-nyc/events/224032139) ($10, payable in advance)*

What is Demo Day? Presenters get 5 minutes to present a news-oriented project, and 5 minutes to answer questions from the audience. It's a fast-paced, fun evening, and we hope you'll be a part of it.

The lightning talks for Demo Day will include:

• Atlas Obscura's Guide to Literary Road Trips (http://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/the-obsessively-detailed-map-of-american-literatures-most-epic-road-trips), with Richard Kreitner @richardkreitner (https://twitter.com/richardkreitner)

• A look behind Stimme.de's Operation Sawfish (http://sawfish.stimme.de), a 70th anniversary commemoration of a massive WWII air raid over Heilbronn, Germany, with Vanessa Wormer @remrow (https://twitter.com/remrow)

• The decision tree that decides on the best maps to make given a dataset for CartoDB's One-Click Mapping (http://blog.cartodb.com/one-click-mapping/), with Andy Eschbacher @MrEPhysics (https://twitter.com/MrEPhysics)

• Dailygraphics (https://github.com/nprapps/dailygraphics/), NPR Visuals' rig for deploying daily graphics projects in responsive iframe, with Alyson Hurt from NPR Visuals @alykat (https://twitter.com/alykat)

• Mapshaper (http://mapshaper.org), an open source alternative to GIS software for editing map data, with Matthew Bloch from The New York Times@grammata (https://twitter.com/grammata)

• censusAmericans (https://twitter.com/censusAmericans), personalizing the U.S. Census on Twitter, with Jia Zhang, intern at FiveThirtyEight @jiazhang (https://twitter.com/jiazhang)

*Refund policy: Cancel at least 24 hours before the event (that is, no later than 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12) to receive a full refund. We cannot issue refunds after that.

Schedule:

6:30 p.m.: Doors, dinner + socializing

~7:00 p.m.: Demos/lightning talks begin

~8:15 p.m.: Hiring announcements, networking and socializing

A big thanks to Pivotal Labs (http://pivotallabs.com/) for hosting us. Want to host a Hacks/Hackers NYC event? Email us at nyc[at]hackshackers[dot]com.

Read more about our previous Demo Days:

• Demo Day 6 (http://www.meetup.com/hacks-hackers-nyc/events/168076672/)

• Demo Day 5 (http://www.meetup.com/hacks-hackers-nyc/events/122016242/)

• Demo Day 4 (http://www.meetup.com/hacks-hackers-nyc/events/56643802/?trax_also_in_algorithm2=original&eventId=56643802&traxDebug_also_in_algorithm2_picked=original&action=detail&traxDebug_also_in_algorithm2_cookied=original)

• Demo Day 3 (http://hackshackers.com/blog/2011/10/15/hackshackers-demo-day-3-recap/)

• Demo Day 2 (http://hackshackers.com/blog/2011/04/07/maps-mobile-security-touch-free-browsing-and-more-at-hackshackers-nyc-demo-day-2/)

• Demo Day 1 (http://hackshackers.com/blog/2010/12/08/recap-of-hackshackers-nyc-demo-day/)