IOT//EDI (Wellness Wearables)

This is a past event

65 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

EVENT DETAILS

N.B. We'll be at a new venue (Codebase)

Wearable Technology is set to transform the health and wellness sector. According to Gartner, this year the worldwide market for wearable devices will grow by 18.4%. In addition to helping consumers stay fit by doing things like monitor diet, measure sleep and activity, wearables are being used in other new and exciting ways. For example, baby wearables like Paci-fi (https://www.bluemaestro.com/smart-thermometer-pacifier/) that monitor temperature, blood oxygen, and movement, Zenta (http://www.vinaya.com/) that monitors mood, stress and happiness levels, and devices such as Melomind (http://melomind.com/) that promote relaxation, but how about light? Recent studies indicate that the wrong type of artificial lighting can be as unhealthy as not having enough exposure to natural light, which is why light and lighting is becoming so important in the context of the IoT.

Sponsors for this event are Product Forge (http://www.productforge.io/), IoT Scotland (http://www.iotscotland.com/#!about/cgvz), Codebase (http://www.thisiscodebase.com/), and Nautilus Beam (http://nautilusbeam.com/).

18:00 REGISTRATION

18:15 - 18:20 WELCOME

18:20 - 18:30 Simon Montford (http://www.simonmontford.com/) (WEB3//IOT (http://www.web3iot.com))

Open Forum; members are invited to make announcements, share news, seek project collaborators, recruit talent, promote their IoT events, and request topics for future Meetups. We'll also have a brief open discussion about how the EU Referendum result may affect the British tech industry. Don't forget to vote!

18.30 - 18:50 Gary Martin (http://www.wearablefutures.co/speakers/gary-martin/) (Lightlog Project (http://lightlogproject.org/))

Gary is the founder of the Lightlog Project (http://lightlogproject.org/), with support from New Media Scotland’s Alt-w Fund and investment from the Scottish Government. The project is developing wearable, open source, low-cost devices that record ambient light levels and colour from your environment. Visualisations help show your daily routine, monitor how light may be affecting your mood, energy levels, and circadian rhythm.

18:50 - 19:10 Morna Simpson (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/mornasimpson) (Nano-Lit (http://www.nano-lit.com/))

Morna leads the digital development and e-commerce roll out for human centric lighting design at Nano-Lit Technologies. Nano-Lit is a human centric lighting company, that creates products which enhance environments to support healthy living.

19:10 - 19:30 Kirstin Hancock (https://www.linkedin.com/in/kirstin-hancock-b4664883) (BlueMaestro (https://www.bluemaestro.com/))

Kirstin is the Marketing Director and co-founder of Blue Maestro (https://www.bluemaestro.com/), which is a health and environmental monitoring product startup. The company's flagship product is a connected pacifier (Pacif-i (https://www.bluemaestro.com/smart-thermometer-pacifier/)), which can measure a baby's temperature, and transmit other health-related data to a smartphone app.

19:30 - 19:50 DISCUSSION & Q&A

19:50 - 21:00 NETWORKING & DRINKS

MEETUP GROUP

Website: www.iotEdi.com (http://www.iotedi.com/)
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/iotEdi
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/iotEdi Hashtag: #iotedi

MEDIA PARTNER

Website: www.web3iot.com (http://www.web3iot.com/)
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/web3iot
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/web3iot
Youtube: www.youtube.com/web3iot (http://ow.ly/10EROx)
Events: www.web3iot.com/events (http://www.web3iot.com/meetups.html)
Submit a guest blog or speak at IOT//EDI: http://www.web3iot.com/contact
Receive update via email: www.web3iot.com/newsletter (http://ow.ly/10ESpD)

SPONSORS:

Nautilus Beam Ltd: www.tusi.co.uk (http://www.tusi.co.uk/)
Product Forge: http://productforge.io (http://productforge.io/)

ORGANISERS:

Simon Montford: www.simonmontford.com (http://www.simonmontford.com/)
Emma MacLean: Linkedin/EmmaMaclean (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/emma-maclean-544b9b41)
Dr Tim Willis: Linkedin/TimWillis (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/dwillis1)
Allan Lloyds: Linkedin/AllanLloyds (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/allanclloyds)
Michelle Caulfield: Linkedin/MichelleCaulfield (https://ie.linkedin.com/in/michelle-caulfield-2b9a1174)