IOT//GLA (Internet of Things) #1

This is a past event

43 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

EVENT DETAILS

18:00 REGISTRATION

18:15 - 18:20 WELCOME

18:20 - 18:30 Simon Montford (http://www.simonmontford.com/) (WEB3//IOT (http://www.web3iot.com/))

Open Forum; members are invited to make announcements, share news, seek project collaborators, promote their IoT events, and request topics for future Meetups.

18.30 - 18.50 Dr Jeremy Singer (http://www.gla.ac.uk/schools/computing/staff/jeremysinger/) (University of Glasgow (http://www.gla.ac.uk/schools/computing/))

As a prototype for the new Glasgow Smart Campus, we have installed IoT environmental sensors in public meeting spaces in the School of Computing Science. Each sensor node consists of a small single-board computer with various environmental sensors attached, to monitor light, temperature, ambient sound, etc. The sensors are hooked up to a live dashboard which is visible to staff and students. We have built a machine learning layer on top to predict room occupancy, which enables just-in-time room allocation for team meetings.

18:50 - 19:10 Gary Clemo (https://www.linkedin.com/in/gary-clemo-7944ab3/) (OFCOM (https://www.ofcom.org.uk/))

The IoT has the potential to deliver significant benefits to consumers and businesses. As the UK's communications and media regulator, Ofcom is continuing to assess what steps it can take, by itself and with others, to promote investment and innovation in the IoT. This presentation offers a view of recent activities, both within the UK and further afield, and likely priorities for the years ahead

19:10 - 19:30 Mohsen Shakoor (https://www.linkedin.com/in/mohsenshakoor/) (Stream Technologies (http://www.stream-technologies.com/)) Mohsen will provide an overview of the challenges that enterprises in the IoT landscape face when it comes to choosing between connectivity and platform options. It will also address the ways in which Stream are simplifying the IoT globally and explore Glasgow’s very own LoRa based IoT network, deployed by Stream and partners.

19:30 -19:50 DISCUSSION & PANEL Q&A

19:50 - 21:00 NETWORKING & DRINKS

To receive IoT news, meet and interact with other IOT//SCT members, and keep the conversation going online before and after each Meetup, please join us on social media:

MEETUP GROUP

Website: www.iotSct.com (http://www.iotsct.com/)
Facebook: www.facebook.com/iotSct (http://www.facebook.com/iotSct)
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/iotSct
Hashtags: #iotsct #iotedi #iotgla

MEDIA PARTNER

Website: www.web3iot.com (http://www.web3iot.com/)
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/web3iot
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/web3iot
Youtube: www.youtube.com/web3iot (http://ow.ly/10EROx)
Events: www.web3iot.com/events (http://www.web3iot.com/meetups.html)
Submit a guest blog: http://www.web3iot.com/contact
Receive update via email: www.web3iot.com/newsletter (http://ow.ly/10ESpD)

ORGANISERS:

Simon Montford: www.simonmontford.com (http://www.simonmontford.com/)
Emma MacLean: Linkedin/EmmaMaclean (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/emma-maclean-544b9b41)
Dr Tim Willis: Linkedin/TimWillis (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/dwillis1)
Allan Lloyds: Linkedin/AllanLloyds (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/allanclloyds)
Tabeetha Sun: Linkedin/ (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/tabeetha-sun-b07980106)TabeethaSun (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/tabeetha-sun-b07980106)
Alice Dréano: Linedin/JakubTansey (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/jakub-tansey-45510680)