IOT//DUN (Internet of Things) #1

This is a past event

48 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

EVENT DETAILS

18:00 REGISTRATION

18:15 - 18:20 WELCOME

18:20 - 18:30 Simon Montford (http://www.simonmontford.com/) (WEB3//IOT (http://www.web3iot.com/))

Open Forum; members are invited to make announcements, share news, seek project collaborators, promote their IoT events, and request topics for future Meetups.

18.30 - 18.50 Chris Brind (https://www.linkedin.com/in/chrisbrind/) (Waracle (https://waracle.net/))

According to IBM, the Internet of Things will consist of 50 billion devices by 2020. Blockchain (in the form of Bitcoin) is a proven technology beginning to disrupt financial services, but with a broader set of uses cases than a lot of people realise. This talk will explore the potential for combining these two concepts to provide exciting new opportunities for both technical solutions and monetisation.

18:50 - 19:10 Gary Lumsden (https://www.linkedin.com/in/glumsden/) (M2M Cloud (https://www.m2mcloud.com/))

Designing and implementing the architecture for an IoT solution can be a daunting challenge. In this 20 minutes we will explore an architecture solution for a simple IoT problem utilising the services of a leading Cloud Platform provider. We will look at how to account for increasing demand and scale which allows a solution to grow from proof of concept to production ready deployment.

19:10 - 19:30 Andrew Kesterton (https://www.linkedin.com/in/andrewkesterton/) (Dundee City Council (http://www.dundeecity.gov.uk/))

Creating investment ready cities for IOT solutions can be a challenge. This talk will cover some projects in the ambitious 8th city programme that involves all Scottish cities working together to expand their Smart City capabilities and deliver priorities through innovation, integration of service delivery, and improved community engagement. Data and Technology are core elements for delivering Smart City operations. The 8th City vision is to enable cities to become more attractive, liveable and resilient through the use of data and digital technology and the services that residents and businesses alike can access.

19:30 -19:50 DISCUSSION & PANEL Q&A

19:50 - 21:00 NETWORKING & DRINKS

To receive IoT news, meet and interact with other IOT//SCT members, and keep the conversation going online before and after each Meetup, please join us on social media:

MEETUP GROUP

Website: www.iotSct.com (http://www.iotsct.com/)
Facebook: www.facebook.com/iotSct (http://www.facebook.com/iotSct)
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/iotSct
Hashtags: #iotsct #iotedi #iotgla

MEDIA PARTNER

Website: www.web3iot.com (http://www.web3iot.com/)
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/web3iot
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/web3iot
Youtube: www.youtube.com/web3iot (http://ow.ly/10EROx)
Events: www.web3iot.com/events (http://www.web3iot.com/meetups.html)
Submit a guest blog: http://www.web3iot.com/contact
Receive update via email: www.web3iot.com/newsletter (http://ow.ly/10ESpD)

ORGANISERS:

Simon Montford: www.simonmontford.com (http://www.simonmontford.com/)
Emma MacLean: Linkedin/EmmaMaclean (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/emma-maclean-544b9b41)
Dr Tim Willis: Linkedin/TimWillis (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/dwillis1)
Allan Lloyds: Linkedin/AllanLloyds (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/allanclloyds)
Tabeetha Sun: Linkedin/ (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/tabeetha-sun-b07980106)TabeethaSun (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/tabeetha-sun-b07980106)
Alice Dréano: Linedin/JakubTansey (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/jakub-tansey-45510680)