addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcredit-cardcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobe--smallglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1launch-new-window--smalllight-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Colorado Libertarians Message Board › Direct action in Longmont - Help Needed

Direct action in Longmont - Help Needed

A former member
Post #: 32
Sorry if I'm off topic. I'm a newbie here. I tend to doubt what I'll talk about as off topic. Let's give it a try.

First off we should understand that the Colorado Constitution permits medical use as a human right. Permits are not required, but MMJ users go that route rather than tangle with law enforcement (who haven't been following the law). While several courts (Summit County being the first), have recognized MMJ as a right declared by the state constitution, most folks are still being persecuted. That's because marijuana is prohibited.

In 2005 there was a proposal before the Boulder city council to reduce the fine of minor possession to $5. The primary proponent (which had to be a resident of Boulder) dropped out of supporting this cause and it failed.
The idea behind the action was not to simply legalize in Boulder, but to make an example of what could be done by ballot in a small city.
Making the fine $5 didn't make MJ legal, but it would make it so costly to prosecute that law enforcement would find interest elsewhere.