addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Single Parents - Divorced Adults Group Message Board › Kids meeting the ex's new partner

Kids meeting the ex's new partner

A former member
Post #: 1
I'm a newbie! Just joined the group today and could already use some advice. My divorce was final in March after being married for 12 1/2 years. We have two daughters, ages 8 and 5. I came searching for a support group today because I'm struggling with the idea of when it's "ok" for our daughter's to meet a new partner. My ex-husband has been dating someone for 7 months and wants our girls to meet her (who happens to be 16 years younger than he is) so they can start doing things together. However, I only moved out of the
house six weeks ago and the girls are still adjusting to the change of living in two places. I don't know what to do. My ex and I had a rule that the girls could NOT be exposed to new relationships for a good
portion of time, but he has already broken that rule two times in the last six weeks. To me, this is being selfish and putting himself and his girlfriend before the needs of his own children. Rather than spending time with them one-on-one, he's wanting to do things together with the girls and his girlfriend. I realize all children are different, but I think it's just way too soon. Any advice?
Laura
user 6540411
Group Organizer
Madison, WI
Post #: 95