TechCrawl and Panel Discussion: "Getting Acquired: The Good, Bad and Ugly"

This is a past event

311 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

What do Lucky Sort, AppFog, Giftango and CrowdCompass all have in common?

They're all PDX tech companies that were acquired since last year's TechCrawl.

PDX is the place to be for startups with big dreams. But is getting acquired what it's really all about? Come find out how your tech startup can be ready for "the good, the bad, and the ugly" of being acquired.

Join 3 PDX tech founders for a 45-minute discussion about pre- and post-acquisition experiences. Afterwards, we'll eat and drink our way through the offices of some super awesome tech companies in NW Portland. This tech crawl is in celebration of the TechFestNW Conference (http://techfestnw.com/).

Panel and TechCrawl starting at the new Urban Airship office:

Urban Airship: 1417 NW Everett St, Portland, OR

5:15PM to 5:30PM: Networking

5:30PM to 6:15PM: Getting Acquired panel discussion

Moderator:

• Rick Turoczy, General Manager of PIE (http://www.piepdx.com/)

Panelists:

• David Nelsen, CEO of Giftango (http://www.bizjournals.com/portland/morning_call/2013/01/digital-gift-card-startup-giftango.html?page=all)

• Chris Logan, Founder of SweetSpot Diabetes (http://www.oregonlive.com/small-business/index.ssf/2012/02/diabetes_device_maker_dexcom_a.html)

• Jeff Hardison, VP of Marketing and Business Development of Meridian (http://siliconflorist.com/2013/05/17/finding-aruba-portland-startup-meridian-acquired-aruba-networks/)

6:15PM - 8:30PM: Tech Crawl through PDX tech offices

Add your SW tech company to the list! Contact Lauren: [masked] or[masked] (You must join this Meetup page to view displayed contact info).

• Kick-off at Urban Airship (http://urbanairship.com/)

• GlobeSherpa (http://www.globesherpa.com)

• BrandLive (http://www.yourbrandlive.com/)

• DevelopmentNOW (http://www.developmentnow.com/)

• Jama Software (http://www.jamasoftware.com/)

• Perka Inc (http://getperka.com/)

• Elemental Technologies (http://www.elementaltechnologies.com/)

• Puppet Labs (http://puppetlabs.com/)

• New Relic (http://newrelic.com/)

• Cascade Web Development: YourBrandLive (http://cascadewebdev.com/company/contact-us)

• SweetSpot Diabetes (https://www.sweetspotdiabetes.com/)

• Cloudability (https://cloudability.com/)

8:00PM - 11:00PM: After Party
[Sponsored by Geekwire (http://www.geekwire.com/)]

On Deck Sports Bar & Grill (http://ondecksportsbar.com/)

Come have a drink on Geekwire and enter to win a free pass to the Sept 12 Geekwire Summit (http://www.geekwire.com/events/geekwire-summit-2013/)

Wait! Do you have your ticket for TechFestNW yet?
This panel discussion and Tech Crawl is free and open to the public. You will need to buy tickets (http://techfestnw.com/tickets/#site-description)if you plan to attend the full TechFestNW Conference (http://techfestnw.com/) happening Sept 6-8. Don’t miss this amazing speaker lineup! (http://techfestnw.com/lineup/#site-description)