Past Meetup

"Building 'Bootiful' Applications with Spring Boot" by Josh Long

This Meetup is past

297 people went

Needs a location

Details

1) Join the IRC channel (https://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=#%23virtualJUG) - Ask questions, chat, discuss

2) View the live stream on YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/virtualJUG/live)

This is a virtual Meetup so timezones are BST 5PM / UTC 4 PM/EST 12 PM / PST 9AM

Building 'Bootiful'­ Applications with Spring Boot

Alright, so maybe "bootiful" won't ever work, but I tried, and it was worth it too because you're reading this. Spring Boot, the new convention-over-configuration centric framework from the Spring team at Pivotal, marries Spring's flexibility with conventional, common sense defaults to make application development not just fly, but pleasant! Join Spring developer advocate Josh Long @starbuxman (http://twitter.com/starbuxman) for a look at what Spring Boot is, why it's turning heads, why you should consider it for your next application (REST, web, batch, big-data, integration, whatever!) and how to get started. Let's take advantage of the dynamic nature of a virtual JUG: I will be live coding and (attempting to) answer your questions on all things Spring and Spring Boot as I introduce the technology.

Speaker

Josh Long is the Spring developer advocate. Josh is the lead author on Apress’ Spring Recipes, 2nd Edition, and a SpringSource committer and contributor. When he's not hacking on code, he can be found at the local Java User Group or at the local coffee shop. Josh likes solutions that push the boundaries of the technologies that enable them. His interests include scalability, BPM, grid processing, mobile computing and so-called "smart" systems. He blogs at http://blog.springsource.org or http://joshlong.com .