Past Meetup

ADS Festive Drinks & Data: 2017 Highlights & Looking Forward to 2018

This Meetup is past

269 people went

Amsterdam Business School (UvA), Room M1.01 (1st floor)

Plantage Muidergracht 12, 1018 TV Amsterdam · Amsterdam

How to find us

Amsterdam Business School (UvA) - Room M1.01 (1st floor) - Plantage Muidergracht 12, 1018 TV Amsterdam

Location image of event venue

Details

ADS Drinks & Data: 2017 Highlights & Looking Forward to 2018

Amsterdam Data Science (http://amsterdamdatascience.nl) are thrilled to invite you to our Festive Drinks & Data afternoon on Thursday 07 December where we will celebrate our many 2017 highlights and share with you our big plans for 2018. After we will have drinks & delicious bites.

Date: Thursday 07 December 2017

Time: 15:30-18:00

Location: Amsterdam Business School (UvA) - Room M1.01

Programme

15:30 - Coffee

15:40 - Introduction & Chair by Maarten de Rijke (https://staff.fnwi.uva.nl/m.derijke/) (Informatics Institute, UvA) on "ADS 2017 Highlights"

15:45-16:55 - ADS strategic directions: 2017 Highlights & looking forward to 2018, 4-minute madness presentations followed by 1 minute question time on:

Foundations of Data Science, Health & Life Sciences, Digital Business, City Analytics, Responsible Data Science, Education & Entrepreneurship

15:45-15:55 - Foundations of Data Science

2017 Highlight: Peter Bloem (http://www.peterbloem.nl) (Department of Computer Science, VU) on "Information content of knowledge graphs"

Looking forward to 2018: Paola Grosso (https://staff.fnwi.uva.nl/p.grosso/)(Informatics Institute, UvA) on "Sustainable systems and software architectures"

15:55-16:05 - Health and Life Sciences

2017 Highlight: Mark Hoogendoorn (http://www.few.vu.nl/~mhoogen/) (Department of Computer Science, VU) on "Predictive Modeling for Depressed Patients using Machine Learning Techniques"

Looking forward to 2018: Jasmijn Baaijens (https://www.cwi.nl/people/jasmijn-baaijens) (Department of Life sciences & Health, CWI) on "Virus infections disentangled - towards a complete understanding of virus DNA"

16:05-16:10 - Digital Business

Looking forward to 2018: Frans Feldberg (https://research.vu.nl/en/persons/jfm-feldberg) (School of Business & Economics, VU) on "Data-Driven Business Innovation: How to Create Value from (Big) Data?"

16:10-16:20 - City Analytics

2017 Highlight: Stevan Rudinac (http://www.uva.nl/profiel/r/u/s.rudinac/s.rudinac.html) (Amsterdam Business School & Informatics Institute, UvA) on "Multimedia Analytics in Urban Computing"

Looking forward to 2018: Nanda Piersma (https://www.cwi.nl/people/nanda-piersma) (Digital Media & Creative Industry HvA & Department of Intelligent & Autonomous Systems CWI) on "Urban analytics, urban well-being and citizen empowerment"

16:20-16:30 - Responsible Data Science

2017 Highlight: Frank van Harmelen (http://www.cs.vu.nl/~frank.van.harmelen/) (Department of Computer Science, VU) on "Responsible Data Science: Fairness, Accuracy, Confidentiality, and Transparency" (http://www.responsibledatascience.org)

Looking forward to 2018: Aysenur Bilgin (https://www.cwi.nl/people/aysenur-bilgin) (Department of Information Access, CWI) on "The NEWSGAC (News Genres: Advancing Media History by Transparent Automatic Genre Classification) project" (https://www.cwi.nl/front-page-content/newsgac-project-kicked-off)

16:30-16:40 - Education

2017 Highlight: Evangelos Kanoulas (https://staff.fnwi.uva.nl/e.kanoulas/) (Informatics Institute, UvA) on "The Data Science Master Track" (http://gss.uva.nl/content/masters/information-studies-data-science/data-science.html)

Looking forward to 2018: Geleyn Meijer (http://www.hva.nl/profiel/m/e/g.r.meijer/g.r.meijer.html) (Faculty of Digital Media & Creative Industry, HvA) on "The Digital Society School" (http://www.amsterdamuas.com/faculty/fdmci/programmes/digital-society-school/digital-society-school.html)

16:40-16:50 - Entrepreneurship

2017 Highlight: Vincent van den Brekel (https://www.cwi.nl/people/vincent-van-den-brekel) (Department of Stochastics, CWI) on "Stokhos: Emergency Mathematics" (http://stokhos.nl)

Looking forward to 2018: Yulia Bodnar (https://ace-incubator.nl/about/our-team/) (Amsterdam Center for Entrepreneurship, ACE) on "How ACE supports entrepreneurship in data science"

16:50-16:55 - Lynda Hardman (https://homepages.cwi.nl/~lynda/) (Department of Information Access, CWI) on "Next Steps for ADS, from 2018 & onwards"

17:00-18:00 - Networking over festive drinks & bites

***

Registration is free but please RSVP on our Meetup page (https://www.meetup.com/Amsterdam-Data-Science/events/242057626/). The event will be in English.

Amsterdam Data Science (http://amsterdamdatascience.us12.list-manage.com/track/click?u=86222f44d0922fe42aea166d6&id=adb1599af2&e=ac1e19de5d) is a partnership of AUAS (HvA), CWI, UvA and VU. Our mission is to develop world-class data science talent and technology within the Amsterdam region. We are the focal point for research, innovation and education.