Past Meetup

Free Jazz Concert & Potluck & BYOB @ LACMA

Details

Jazz at LACMA features the art of jazz as practiced by leading Southern California artists. Celebrating over twenty years at LACMA, the program continues to be one of the museum’s most recognizable offerings. Jazz at LACMA is a celebration of L.A.’s finest jazz musicians and has featured such legends as Wayne Shorter, John Clayton, Kenny Burrell, Les McCann, Billy Childs, Arturo Sandoval, Cannonball-Coltrane Project, and Ernie Watts. Over 42,000 visitors attend the program annually from April through November.

BP Grand Entrance | Free, no reservations

Campus Map (http://www.lacma.org/visit/campus-map)

How to Find Us ~ See that RED structure in the background? That's where I park my black/yellow Nishiki bike. From the bike, about 50 feet on your right is a slightly raised lawn area with short palm trees and that is where I planned to have our group gather. BUT!!! Sometimes another group might snag the spot before us and if that is the case, then hang around the bike and text me @ 323.203.4001 and I'll come get you.

What better event to unwind than a free jazz concert, bring some food and wine to share and relax now that the weekend is just beginning. Time for a bit of wining and dining with your fellow LA Foodies!

LACMA is pretty chill about bringing in our own food and beverages and if you want to get good seats, you should arrive at least 1/2 hour early (5:30pm) and gather at the raised lawn about 30 feet in front of the red telephone booth

The deal with BYOB wine is just keep it a little on the down low... don't flaunt it or go to the restaurant and ask to borrow their corkscrew...

Above pic was a cheese and chacuterie plate I brought to one of these jazz concerts last year...

NO HOST EVENTS - Most of these concerts will be NO HOST events even though it shows Darrell will be attending. If I definitely plan on attending one of the concerts, I will comment. BUT, attending members should make arrangements amongst each other to meet up with each other. I bringing a blanket or beach towel and sit at the elevated lawn area. Serious concert listeners, might want to sit closer, so be it, during the intermission, you can go to the back and search out the rest of the group and share some food/drink together.

So... bring something to share, either some wine or some finger eats such as chacuterie/salumi, cheeses, fresh produce such as grapes, dried fruits such as dates or nuts, olives, bread, foods that are easy to eat without utensils...

Arturo Sandoval (http://www.lacma.org/event/arturo-sandoval) ~ Friday, April 19, 2013 | 6 pm
Arturo Sandoval, trumpet legend and winner of nine Grammy Awards, including the 2013 Grammy for his recording Dear Diz, opens the twenty-second season of Jazz at LACMA. A protégé of the legendary jazz master Dizzy Gillespie, Cuban-born Sandoval is one of the most dynamic and vivacious performers of our time, appearing in concerts around the world, and at the Academy Awards, Grammy Awards, and Billboard Music Awards shows.

John Proulx (http://www.lacma.org/event/john-proulx)

Friday, April 26, 2013 | 6 pm

Charles Owen Quintet (http://www.lacma.org/event/charles-owen)

Friday, May 3, 2013 | 6 pm

Greg Reitan Trio (http://www.lacma.org/event/greg-reitan-0)

Friday, May 10, 2013 | 6 pm

Wolfgang Schalk Quartet (http://www.lacma.org/event/wolfgang-schalk)

Friday, May 17, 2013 | 6 pm

CJS Quintet (http://www.lacma.org/event/cjs)

Friday, May 24, 2013 | 6 pm

Sandra Booker (http://www.lacma.org/event/sandra-booker-0)

Friday, May 31, 2013 | 6 pm

Jon Mayer Trio with Jackie Ryan (http://www.lacma.org/event/jon-mayer-trio-0)

Friday, June 7, 2013 | 6 pm

Billy Childs Quartet (http://www.lacma.org/event/billy-childs)

Friday, June 14, 2013 | 6 pm

The Jazz Leaders (http://www.lacma.org/event/jazz-leaders)

Friday, June 21, 2013 | 6 pm