Next Meetup

Book Club: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. They killed my mother. They took our magic. They tried to bury us. Now we rise. Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope. Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good. Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy. "A phenomenon." —Entertainment Weekly “The epic I’ve been waiting for.” —New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu “You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” —New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton “The next big thing in literature and film.” —Ebony “One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” —Teen Vogue This title has Common Core connections. #1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

Butter Love Bakeshop

3717 Balboa St. · San Francisco, CA

What we're about

I started this group for two reasons: 1) to meet other adults who love all that is Harry Potter and 2) to create a community chapter of the Harry Potter Alliance, a nonprofit coalition that draws inspiration from the Harry Potter novels to go out and do good in the world and fight the real-life dark arts. Because why not use our passion for Harry Potter to do good! Together we can make a positive impact in our community, which is real magic! You can read more about the Harry Potter Alliance here (http://thehpalliance.org/what-we-do/).

My hope is to alternate meetups between volunteer events and social (Harry Potter-inspired) gatherings (because friendship is a form of magic too!).

We also have an active monthly fantasy/sci-fi book club where we talk about other books that may have also inspired us or at least helped get us through our Harry Potter withdrawals.

Some ideas for future events are Harry Potter themed potlucks, movie nights, wand-dueling paintball, and I've always wanted to do a Harry Potter themed murder mystery dinner but would need a lot of help with that one.

If you are into things other than Harry Potter, great! Let me know and we can work those in as well. I just love themes and costumes really, and I realize that there are a lot of cross-over interests that we probably share.

Please email me and let me know your ideas, interests or if you would like to host a gathering or get involved in helping me run this meetup! ILeftMyWandinSF@gmail.com

https://secure.meetupstatic.com/photos/event/2/4/2/4/600_398109252.jpeg

https://secure.meetupstatic.com/photos/event/2/4/6/a/600_398109322.jpeg

Members (499)

Photos (249)