Analysing Debian packages with Neo4j

This is a past event

68 people went

Details

We present our work towards representing Debian's packages, including history and releases, as well as other components of the Debian environment, using Neo4j.

The Ultimate Debian Database UDD (https://wiki.debian.org/UltimateDebianDatabase/) collects a variety of data aroundDebian and Ubuntu: Packages and sources, bugs, history of uploads, just to name a few.

The database scheme reveals a highly de-normalizedRDB (https://udd.debian.org/schema/). In this on-going work we extract (some) data from UDD and represent it as a graph database.

The presentation will give a short introduction on the life time and structure of Debian packages, followed with the graph database scheme (nodes and relations).

After going through some of the queries used on the UDD web pages we will show how they can be translated to Cypher.

We close with an outlook of our future plans and open problems.

We'll be taking questions live during the session but if you have any before hand be sure to post them in the #neo4j-online-meetup channel of the Neo4j users slack (http://www.neo4j.com/slack).

We'll be hosting this session on YouTube live.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lpqvv36SBQw

Time
06:00 PDT (UTC - 7 hours)
09:00 EDT (UTC - 4 hours)
13:00 UTC
14:00 BST (UTC + 1 hour)
15:00 CEST (UTC + 2 hours)
22:00 JST (UTC + 9 hours)

The Speaker
Norbert Preining, Accelia Inc., Tokyo, Japan