How to load Bitcoin into Neo4j in one day

This is a past event

85 people went

^^^Timezone: Pacific Standard Time (SFO)

See below for other time zones · Online, CA

How to find us

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8waU4Vhcrs

Details

Bitcoin can arguably be better understood as a graph data structure than as a table. Outputs are created when new blocks are mined and locked to a specific address. These outputs are used (or unlocked) as inputs to new transactions, which will in turn generate their own sets of outputs. Bitcoin is a big network of transactions which use outputs from other transactions to generate their own outputs.

At TokenAnalyst, we believe that although modelling the Bitcoin domain knowledge on a tabular format has its value (and we in fact do it for different use cases), modelling it as a graph gives us extra power to perform analyses that would be otherwise very difficult to achieve on a regular database. Analyses such as Network Centrality, Paths Analysis, Community Detection, and many many more. This is why we decided to implement a Neo4j database for our Bitcoin data store.

In the first part of our talk, we will explain the general architecture of our solution and how after a series of optimisations, we managed to reduce the bootstrap time of a new deployment, to under one day. In the second part, we will discuss some of the advanced analytics that Neo4j enables on the Bitcoin blockchain.

-----------------------------
YOUTUBE LIVE LINK:
-----------------------------
We'll be hosting this session on YouTube live:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ndH6VZ1KFUg

-----------------------------
ABOUT THE SPEAKERS
-----------------------------

Cesar Pantoja

Cesar is a Software Developer with more than 11 years of experience designing and developing large scale software systems using numerous technologies, Frameworks and methodologies.

He has PhD in Electronic Engineering and Computer Science from Queen Mary University of London on large scale semantic exploitation of forensic data and probabilistic reasoning for the semantic web, finished May 2017.

-----------------------------
ONLINE DISCUSSIONS
-----------------------------
We'll be taking questions live during the session, but if you have any questions before or after be sure to post them in the project's thread in the Neo4j Community Site (https://community.neo4j.com/t/how-to-load-bitcoin-into-neo4j-in-one-day/5273).

-----------------------------
TIME
-----------------------------
08:00 PDT (UTC - 7 hours)
11:00 EDT (UTC - 4 hours)
15:00 UTC
16:00 BST (UTC + 1 hours)
17:00 CEST (UTC + 2 hours)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WANT TO BE FEATURED IN OUR NEXT NEO4J ONLINE MEETUP?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We select talks from our Neo4j Community site!
community.neo4j.com

To submit your talk, post in in the #projects (if including a link to github or website) or #content (if linking to a blog post, slideshow, video, or article) categories.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
VOTE FOR THE PRESENTATIONS YOU'D LIKE TO SEE!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
'VOTE' for the projects and content you'd like to see!
Browse the projects and content categories in our community site and 'heart' the ones you're interested in seeing!

community.neo4j.com

Have a suggestion or request for a certain talk? Email us at [masked]