GraphXR is Coming: Visualizing Game of Thrones

This is a past event

78 people went

^^^Timezone: Pacific Standard Time (SFO)

See below for other time zones · Online, CA

How to find us

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8waU4Vhcrs

Details

Game of Thrones has generated a wealth of data. Who belongs to which house, who do they kill or get killed by, which relative starts a war to avenge that death, leading to a climactic battle in which episode, aired on what date and watched by how many viewers?

It's a perfect graph problem, but the data resides in tables, in text, and in video. In this demo, we'll show you how GraphXR can be used to wrangle that data, model it, create a rich visualization, and save it back to Neo4j.

(SPOILER ALERT)

And All in less time than it takes Jon Snow to send a message to Daenerys from beyond the wall so she can rescue him from an undead army!

-----------------------------
YOUTUBE LIVE LINK:
-----------------------------
We'll be hosting this session on YouTube live:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXxBDPPWwYc

-----------------------------
ABOUT THE SPEAKERS
-----------------------------

Sony Green
Sony Green is co-founder and Director of Business Development at Kineviz. After receiving his BFA in sculpture from the Rhode Island School of Design, he studied 3D animation at the Vancouver Film School and went on to work for LucasArts, Salesforce, the CDC, Yahoo, IGN, and multiple tech startups. He brings Kineviz’ clients and partners a cross-disciplinary approach to data visualization and analytics.

Weidong Yang
Weidong Yang is the founder and CEO of Kineviz. He holds a doctorate in Physics and a Masters in Computer and Information Science. After conducting theoretical and experimental research on quantum dots, he worked for 10 years as a product manager and R&D scientist in the Semiconductor industry. He has been awarded 11 US patents and contributed to 20+ peer review publications. Prior to Kineviz, Wei co-founded Kinetech Arts, a non-profit that brings dancers and engineers together to explore the creative potential of new technologies in making art.

-----------------------------
ONLINE DISCUSSIONS
-----------------------------
We'll be taking questions live during the session, but if you have any questions before or after be sure to post them in the project's thread in the Neo4j Community Site (https://community.neo4j.com/t/graphxr-is-coming-visualizing-game-of-thrones/6342).

-----------------------------
TIME
-----------------------------
08:30 PDT (UTC - 7 hours)
11:30 EDT (UTC - 4 hours)
15:30 UTC
16:30 BST (UTC + 1 hours)
17:30 CEST (UTC + 2 hours)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WANT TO BE FEATURED IN OUR NEXT NEO4J ONLINE MEETUP?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We select talks from our Neo4j Community site!
community.neo4j.com

To submit your talk, post in in the #projects (if including a link to github or website) or #content (if linking to a blog post, slideshow, video, or article) categories.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
VOTE FOR THE PRESENTATIONS YOU'D LIKE TO SEE!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
'VOTE' for the projects and content you'd like to see!
Browse the projects and content categories in our community site and 'heart' the ones you're interested in seeing!

community.neo4j.com

Have a suggestion or request for a certain talk? Email us at [masked]