What we're about

Service Design Dallas is the Official Dallas Chapter of the Global Service Design Network (https://www.service-design-network.org/)

We are seeking to help create new connections and build awareness of this evolving new exciting discipline: Service Design.

So, what the heck is Service Design you ask?

“Service Design choreographs processes, technologies, and interactions within complex systems in order to co-create value for relevant stakeholders”
— Brigit Mager (Professor of Service Design, KISD & Service Design Network President)

We want to meet you, whether you're a designer, developer, product manager, business analyst, organizational leader or if you just simply want to know more about Service Design! …the more diverse skillsets, the better!

Our vision is to create a growing group of Service Designers in the Dallas community to connect, collaborate, and co-create. We're looking forward to meet you!

Upcoming events (5)

Service Design in Government: with Iran Narges/Aza Damood/Brian Blank

We will have Iran Narges from the City of San Francisco, Aza Damood from Fannie Mae, Washington D.C. and Brian Blank from Slalom. We will discuss Service Design thinking and solutioning in the Government/Public space. TOPIC: Service Design in Government How different is Service Design in the Government Space? Are stakeholders more available than in private sector? Are there any new dimensions to consider when building public sector services? You will learn from Iran, Aza and Brian what it takes to organize and run a service design project within a government structure. A little bit about Iran: • Iran Narges, Lead Service Designer, City of San Francisco, San Francisco, CA Currently Lead Service Designer at San Francisco Digital Services, working on the city’s new Permit Center Experience, and leading the Service Design team. Iran began practicing service design in 2013 at Adaptive Path, building on 15 years of graphic design and art direction experience across a wide range of industries and media. In her previous role as Design Director at Capital One, she led a team focused on scaling service design and strategic design capabilities across the enterprise. In 2017, Iran helped develop and teach the first Adaptive Path Service Experience Intensive. She also developed and taught CCA’s first-ever undergraduate Service Design elective with fellow CCA and AP alum Amber Reed (FA16, FA17, FA18). Iran's design work has been recognized by design publications and organizations including the Type Director’s Club, HOW Magazine, Surface Magazine, and AIGA’s annual “50 Books/50 Covers” competition. I have a BFA (High Distinction) in graphic design from California College of the Arts. A little bit about Aza: • Aza Damood, Director Customer Experience Design, Fannie Mae, Washington D.C. Aza has 15+ years of consulting experience, passionate about using empathy and human-centered design principles to solve complex challenges and create powerful customer experiences that matter to people, governments, and Fortune 100 companies. Currently with Fannie Mae, Aza leads a team of in-house design strategists focused on innovative affordable housing solutions and spreading human-centered design practices throughout the organization. Prior to that, She helped establish and grow a service design and CX practice at Booz Allen Hamilton, led multidisciplinary innovation teams at Idea Couture, and worked to infuse strategy + technology + design for some of IBM's largest modernization efforts across US and Canada. A little bit about Brian: • Brian Blank, Engagement Leader and Program Manager, Slalom, Dallas TX For over 15 years, Brian has successfully led complex management consulting engagements across a myriad of customer environments, from Fortune 100 business, to U.S. Federal Government Agencies, to private-equity backed start ups. Currently with Slalom, Brian leads engagement teams focused on solving their client’s most difficult problems. His industry focus includes Public Sector, Aerospace/Defense, Financial Services, Telecommunications, Manufacturing, and Travel & Hospitality. Brian has a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration (BSBA) from the University of Florida, a Master’s of Science in Management Information Sciences (MSMIS) from the University of Florida, a Master’s of Business Administration (MBA) from Syracuse University, and a Master’s of Public Administration (MPA) from Syracuse University. Brian is a certified Project Management Professional (PMP). We will have a moderated open Q&A session for all attendees who wish to ask specific questions to our panel. Interview will take place Tuesday August 11 at Noon, (Central Standard Time) Everyone is welcome to join the conversation from anywhere on the globe: Zoom: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89147376190?pwd=dUJmQkkvRmhBUmx0TnFpVndkZWdUdz09 PW:366242

Service Design Activation & Adoption: Aric Wood - Live Interview and Open Q&A

We will have Aric Wood, CEO of XPLANE, we will discuss Service Design visualization, adoption and activation. TOPIC: The Secrets to successful Activation & Adoption of Service Design Aric will discuss XPLANE's unique visualization tools and methodologies: Activating Service Design using visual communications and learning tools to drive engaging adoption. A little bit about Aric: Aric Wood is the CEO of XPLANE, a Design Consultancy that helps large organizations clarify, communicate, and activate their strategies. XPLANE leverages visual thinking, human-centered design, co-creation, and multi-disciplinary teams to help clients realize their visions... faster. Aric leads XPLANE’s Strategy Activation practice, which helps organizations bring their strategies to life by aligning, engaging, and activating their employees. With experience in strategy, general management, innovation, and entrepreneurship, Aric has a keen interest in leveraging design thinking to identify opportunities and drive innovation. Aric is a keynote speaker at design, business, and change management events, and has appeared in publications and broadcasts including CNN, Business Week, Forbes and Inc. Magazine. Aric previously served in leadership roles at Intuit and Epinions.com, and as a strategy consultant at Bain & Company. Aric earned a bachelor’s degree in International Relations from The Johns Hopkins University and an MBA from Harvard Business School. Aric has served on a number of for-profit and non-profit boards, including the Design Museum Foundation, Business for Culture and the Arts, MusicXray.com, and as the Chairman of the Board of Governors of Pacific Northwest College of Art (PNCA). We will have a moderated open Q&A session for all attendees who wish to ask specific questions to Aric. Interview will take place Tuesday September 8 at 12PM, (Central Standard Time) Everyone is welcome to join the conversation from anywhere on the globe: ZOOM: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87122553631?pwd=cEt6SlRjV011a0txWFNBVDZOU2pCdz09 PW:589342 >Here are some global time examples: > 12PM Dallas time (CST) Berlin 7PM Dubai 9PM Hong Kong 1AM London 6PM Los Angeles 10AM Melbourne 4AM New York 1PM Paris 7PM Sao Paulo 2PM Tel Aviv 8PM Thank you and we'll see you there!

Service Design Monthly Meetup

Improving

Food and beverages will be provided courtesy of Improving.

Everything you've ever wanted to know about Service Design: Open Q&A!

Food and beverages will be provided courtesy of LifeBlue :)

Photos (194)