Going Reactive with Streams in Jakarta EE | Jakarta Tech Talks

This is a past event

89 people went

Needs a location

Details

The MeetUp will be held on Google Hangouts and you will be able to watch the live stream directly on YouTube.

This is a virtual meetup occurring at 2PM Eastern Time (11AM Pacific Time, 8PM Central European Time). For help with your timezone calculation, refer to this (https://time.is/compare/1400_26_Feb_2019_in_ET).

JOIN THE WEBINAR HERE:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pArfrF4VN_8

Join the conversation: #JakartaTechTalks

Presenter: James Roper

Abstract:
The old world of monolithic Java EE servers had the luxury of assuming consistent state, due to a single database being able to enforce that with ACID transactions. In the cloud native Jakarta EE world, these assumptions no longer hold, and new architectural models are needed to deal with state and ensuring consistency. At the core of these models is streaming, which allows state to be reliably propagated throughout a cloud native system, allowing eventual consistency to be assumed. MicroProfile Reactive Streams is a new spec that has been created to manipulate and handle these streams. Coupled with upcoming specs for messaging and modifications to existing Jakarta EE specs for Reactive Streams, MicroProfile Reactive Streams offers Jakarta EE users an opportunity to safely move into the new world of cloud native computing.

Bio: James Roper
James works as the Open Source Architect at Lightbend, previously having co-created the Lagom Reactive Microservices Framework, and led the development of Play Framework. He has also led the development of new reactive specs in the Eclipse MicroProfile project.