Past Meetup

Canyonlands National Park, Utah [backpacking]

This Meetup is past

3 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

Greetings, Canyonlanders! Can't wait to see you all on our Spring Break Adventure.

We will be setting up a base camp in the Upper West Basin in the 'Island in the Sky' District of Canyonlands National Park.

As per park rules, we will camp approximately 1.0+ miles away from a highway accessed through the Wilhite Trail and camp approximately 300+ feet away from the main trail along the rim (bring extra cord for rock tie-offs) as we will most likely be camping on slickrock or gently compacted soil (sand stakes are recommended).

Each day we will depart from and return to our camp and use our vehicles to access hike trailheads (linked in the itinerary below). This should provide us with relatively easy access and a good warm-up/cool-down for/from our daily adventures. Each trailhead is approximately a 15-20 minute drive from where we will leave our vehicles overnight (shoulder parking) along Upheaval Dome Rd.

There is NO WATER other than what can be found at the visitor's center! We'll be going back there often and frequently! Both the Green and Colorado Rivers (which are not particularly near where we're going) are extremely silty and will destroy a water filter.

Costs: $30/permit divided by #attendees, plus a $10 park entry fee per vehicle.

Further specific details in progress…

Any questions, email Ryan or Samat, or better yet, leave a comment.

Itinerary:

Monday:
6:00 AM departure from Las Cruces
Gas Stops as needed
Lunch/Snacks in Farmington?

5/6:00 PM – Arrive @ Wilhite Trail and set up camp

*sunset approx. 7:30 pm

Tuesday:

Mesa Arch Hike (http://www.summitpost.org/mesa-arch/931329) (morning rise, Easy Trail). - .5 mi
+Aztec Butte (http://www.hikespeak.com/trails/aztec-butte-canyonlands-hike/) (Moderate Trail) - 2 mi
+ Murphy Loop (http://www.summitpost.org/murphy-basin-loop-trail/894747) (Strenuous) - 8.3 mi
+ Murphy Point (http://www.hikespeak.com/trails/murphy-point-canyonlands-hike/) (Easy Trail)- 1.3 mi
Total Mileage = 12.1 mi

Wednesday:
Synchline Loop (http://www.protrails.com/trail/634/canyonlands-national-park-syncline-loop-trail) (Strenuous Trail) - 8.3 mi
+Crater Spur Trail - 1.5 mi
Total Mileage = 9.8 mi
+Depending on how everyone is doing, we can add extra mileage by tacking on an out and back to Upheaval Canyon (http://www.summitpost.org/upheaval-canyon-trail/897333) -7 mi

Thursday:
Alcove Spring Trail (http://www.summitpost.org/alcove-spring-trail/617979) (Strenuous Trail) - 11.5 mi
We can view Moses & Zeus Towers on this route
Total Mileage = 11.5 mi

Friday (optional day*):
Wilhite Trail (http://www.summitpost.org/wilhite-trail/621619) (Strenuous Trail) - 10 mi
+Slot Canyon (exploratory)
Total Mileage = 10 mi +

*Option: Remain in Canyonlands and do Friday hike or return to Las Cruces/El Paso.

Saturday:

Pack and Leave
Shower @ Campground of choice (http://www.discovermoab.com/shower.htm)in Moab

Gas Stops as Needed

Lunch in ???

Saturday Afternoon Arrive in Las Cruces

nps.gov

Trip Forecast:

http://www.weather.com/weather/tenday/l/UTNPCANY:13:US

Wilhite Trail (Base Camp Specs):