What we're about

Do you ever fantasise about the end of the world? Well you are not alone!

Starting out as a group of friends who realised they were interested in post-apocalyptic books created this group as half joke not fully understanding the obsession that was to come.

We meet once a month at the Star of Kings pub, Kings Cross, to chat about a pre-set post-apocalyptic book, as well as organising author events, movie nights and socials etc.

We are also an equal opportunity group and don't discriminate against those who are into a bit of literature! So, if you fancy reading some books about the decline of society or the subsequent rebuilding of it while having a drink and a laugh then we would love to meet you.

To catch a glimpse of what our group is like, check out this short video made by the lovely students of Kingston University:

The Post Apocalyptic Book Club (http://vimeo.com/92924058) from Noni Braithwaite (http://vimeo.com/user18300853) on Vimeo (https://vimeo.com).

Upcoming events (5+)

The Migration by Helen Marshall

The Star of Kings

Creepy and atmospheric, evocative of Stephen King's classic Pet Sematary, The Migration is a story of sisterhood, transformation, and the limitations of love, from a thrilling new voice in Canadian fiction. When I was younger I didn't know a thing about death. I thought it meant stillness, a body gone limp. A marionette with its strings cut. Death was like a long vacation a going away. Storms and flooding are worsening around the world, and a mysterious immune disorder has begun to afflict the young. Sophie Perella is about to begin her senior year of high school in Toronto when her little sister, Kira, is diagnosed. Their parents' marriage falters under the strain, and Sophie's mother takes the girls to Oxford, England, to live with their Aunt Irene. An Oxford University professor and historical epidemiologist obsessed with relics of the Black Death, Irene works with a centre that specializes in treating people with the illness. She is a friend to Sophie, and offers a window into a strange and ancient history of human plague and recovery. Sophie just wants to understand what s happening now; but as mortality rates climb, and reports emerge of bodily tremors in the deceased, it becomes clear there is nothing normal about this condition and that the dead aren't staying dead. When Kira succumbs, Sophie faces an unimaginable choice: let go of the sister she knows, or take action to embrace something terrifying and new. Tender and chilling, unsettling and hopeful, The Migration is a story of a young woman s dawning awareness of mortality and the power of the human heart to thrive in cataclysmic circumstances. If you want to buy the book from Amazon, you can use the following links: The Migration - Paperback https://amzn.to/2AUOgID

Rosewater by Tade Thompson

The Star of Kings

Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless - people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers. Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again - but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future. Rosewater is the start of a vibrant and compellingly told trilogy by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices - perfect for fans of N. K. Jemisin's The Fifth Season, Ann Leckie's Ancillary Justice and Jeff Vandermeer's Southern Reach trilogy. If you want to buy the book on Amazon, you can use the following links: Rosewater - Paperback https://amzn.to/2Wst7xq Rosewater - Kindle https://amzn.to/2YzIeHl

Vintage PABC - The Sleeper Awakes by H. G. Wells

The Star of Kings

A troubled insomniac in 1890s England falls suddenly into a sleep-like trance, from which he does not awake for over two hundred years. During his centuries of slumber, however, investments are made that make him the richest and most powerful man on Earth. But when he comes out of his trance he is horrified to discover that the money accumulated in his name is being used to maintain a hierarchal society in which most are poor, and more than a third of all people are enslaved. Oppressed and uneducated, the masses cling desperately to one dream - that the sleeper will awake, and lead them all to freedom. If you want to buy the book from Amazon you can use the following links: The Sleeper Awakes - Paperback https://amzn.to/2RU4AzB The Sleeper Awakes - Kindle https://amzn.to/2C5GSe6

Vintage PABC - Robopocalypse by Daniel H Wilson

The Star of Kings

In the near future, at a moment no one will notice, all the dazzling technology that runs our world will unite and turn against us. Taking on the persona of a shy human boy, a childlike but massively powerful artificial intelligence known as Archos comes online and assumes control over the global network of machines that regulate everything from transportation to utilities, defense and communication. In the months leading up to this, sporadic glitches are noticed by a handful of unconnected humans – a single mother disconcerted by her daughter’s menacing “smart” toys, a lonely Japanese bachelor who is victimized by his domestic robot companion, an isolated U.S. soldier who witnesses a ‘pacification unit’ go haywire – but most are unaware of the growing rebellion until it is too late. When the Robot War ignites -- at a moment known later as Zero Hour -- humankind will be both decimated and, possibly, for the first time in history, united. Robopocalypse is a brilliantly conceived action-filled epic, a terrifying story with heart-stopping implications for the real technology all around us…and an entertaining and engaging thriller unlike anything else written in years. If you want to buy the book on Amazon you can use the following links: Robopocalypse - Paperback https://amzn.to/2C6c0uj Robopocalypse - Kindle https://amzn.to/2C6wi6J

Past events (303)

Vintage PABC - Riddley Walker by Russell Hoban

The Star of Kings

Photos (719)

Find us also at