What we're about

Do you ever fantasise about the end of the world? Well you are not alone!

Starting out as a group of friends who realised they were interested in post-apocalyptic books created this group as half joke not fully understanding the obsession that was to come.

We meet once a month at the Star of Kings pub, Kings Cross, to chat about a pre-set post-apocalyptic book, as well as organising author events, movie nights and socials etc.

We are also an equal opportunity group and don't discriminate against those who are into a bit of literature! So, if you fancy reading some books about the decline of society or the subsequent rebuilding of it while having a drink and a laugh then we would love to meet you.

To catch a glimpse of what our group is like, check out this short video made by the lovely students of Kingston University:

The Post Apocalyptic Book Club (http://vimeo.com/92924058) from Noni Braithwaite (http://vimeo.com/user18300853) on Vimeo (https://vimeo.com).

Upcoming events (5+)

Rosewater by Tade Thompson

The Star of Kings

Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless - people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers. Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again - but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future. Rosewater is the start of a vibrant and compellingly told trilogy by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices - perfect for fans of N. K. Jemisin's The Fifth Season, Ann Leckie's Ancillary Justice and Jeff Vandermeer's Southern Reach trilogy. If you want to buy the book on Amazon, you can use the following links: Rosewater - Paperback https://amzn.to/2Wst7xq Rosewater - Kindle https://amzn.to/2YzIeHl

Vintage PABC - The Sleeper Awakes by H. G. Wells

The Star of Kings

A troubled insomniac in 1890s England falls suddenly into a sleep-like trance, from which he does not awake for over two hundred years. During his centuries of slumber, however, investments are made that make him the richest and most powerful man on Earth. But when he comes out of his trance he is horrified to discover that the money accumulated in his name is being used to maintain a hierarchal society in which most are poor, and more than a third of all people are enslaved. Oppressed and uneducated, the masses cling desperately to one dream - that the sleeper will awake, and lead them all to freedom. If you want to buy the book from Amazon you can use the following links: The Sleeper Awakes - Paperback https://amzn.to/2RU4AzB The Sleeper Awakes - Kindle https://amzn.to/2C5GSe6

Square Eyes by Anna Mill & Luke Jones

The Star of Kings

Thought we would do something a little different for June and go for a graphic novel! We don't do these often and this one seems beautiful and perfect for us. Blurb below: Look – anyone who invents something really great has a moment where they think it's going to destroy the world. For the first time in her life, Fin is off the network. A few months ago, she was the inventor of a programme so powerful, so unusual that she was untouchable. Until she wasn't. Meanwhile, people have started disappearing from the streets of the city and the technology she created might be implicated. Square Eyes is a graphic novel about a future where the boundaries between memory, dreams and the digital world start to blur. It’s a kaleidoscopic mystery story which asks: in a city built on digital illusion, who really holds the power? What is weakness? And when is it most dangerous? https://www.amazon.co.uk/Square-Eyes-Anna-Mill/dp/0224097229

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett

The Star of Kings

By popular demand... 'Armageddon only happens once, you know. They don't let you go around again until you get it right' According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch, Judgement Day is almost upon us and the world's going to end in a week . . . Now people have been predicting the end of the world almost from its very beginning, so it's only natural to be sceptical when a new date is set for Judgement Day. But what if, for once, the predictions are right, and the apocalypse really is due to arrive next Saturday, just after tea? You could spend the time left drowning your sorrows, giving away all your possessions in preparation for the rapture, or laughing it off as (hopefully) just another hoax. Or you could just try to do something about it. It's a predicament that Aziraphale, a somewhat fussy angel, and Crowley, a fast-living demon now finds themselves in. They've been living amongst Earth's mortals since The Beginning and, truth be told, have grown rather fond of the lifestyle and, in all honesty, are not actually looking forward to the coming Apocalypse. And then there's the small matter that someone appears to have misplaced the Antichrist . . . https://www.amazon.co.uk/Good-Omens-Neil-Gaiman/dp/0552176451/ref=dp_ob_image_bk

Photos (721)

Find us also at