What we're about

We hold a poetry slam the first Saturday of every month at Casa del Sol in Nyack, NY from 630 PM to 9 PM. A poetry slam is a performance poetry competition judged by arbitrarily-selected audience members. Where traditional poetry readings are about supporting the poet, poetry slams focus on the interaction between audience and poet. Strong writing and strong delivery are both important. Whether you want to come out and participate by performing or by spectating, you are welcome. Our slam has been in operation since December 2011.

We also host a poetry open mic the third Saturday of every month at the Suffern Village Hall in Suffern, NY. That series has been taking place at various venues since March of 2011.

Upcoming events (5)

International Writers' Poetry Circle

Online event

Enjoy an international poetry circle from the comfort of your home! This event is useful for writers looking to add to their collection, establish a reoccurring time block, network internationally, or perform at open mics. The group meets for two hours, and provides warm-ups, prompts, and exercises under the direction of a facilitator and co-facilitator. Attendees will be exposed to published works by established authors, and receive feedback from the group. Donations are welcome but the biggest contribution you can make is by attending. =============== Other Time Zones: 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM MDT U.S. Mountain 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM CDT U.S. Central 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM EDT U.S. Eastern 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM BST British 9:00 PM – 11:00 PM CEST Central European 10:00 PM – 12:00 AM EAT Eastern Africa

Online Poetry Writing Workshop!

Online event

Wanna write poetry, but don't know where to start and can ever find the time to do it? Why not come to our online workshop using zoom?? We'll have an hour and a half to work on creating and sharing new poetry, and hopefully you'll come away with something that leaves you inspired to share! Use the zoom link below (we start at 4) and we'll see you there! Topic: Poetry Writing Workshop Time: 04:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada) Join Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/7319333771?pwd=ckxFWHB6WEZrWVl5VEw0eFBhQzlJdz09 Meeting ID:[masked] Password:[masked] One tap mobile [masked],,[masked]#,,1#,[masked]# US (New York) [masked],,[masked]#,,1#,[masked]# US (Chicago) Dial by your location [masked] US (New York) [masked] US (Chicago) [masked] US (Germantown) [masked] US (Houston) [masked] US (San Jose) [masked] US (Tacoma) Meeting ID:[masked] Password:[masked] Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbrWSWxbMi

Online Poetry Writing Workshop!

Online event

Wanna write poetry, but don't know where to start and can ever find the time to do it? Why not come to our online workshop using zoom?? We'll have an hour and a half to work on creating and sharing new poetry, and hopefully you'll come away with something that leaves you inspired to share! Use the zoom link below (we start at 4) and we'll see you there! Topic: Poetry Writing Workshop Time: 04:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada) Join Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/7319333771?pwd=ckxFWHB6WEZrWVl5VEw0eFBhQzlJdz09 Meeting ID:[masked] Password:[masked] One tap mobile [masked],,[masked]#,,1#,[masked]# US (New York) [masked],,[masked]#,,1#,[masked]# US (Chicago) Dial by your location [masked] US (New York) [masked] US (Chicago) [masked] US (Germantown) [masked] US (Houston) [masked] US (San Jose) [masked] US (Tacoma) Meeting ID:[masked] Password:[masked] Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbrWSWxbMi

Online Poetry Writing Workshop!

Online event

Wanna write poetry, but don't know where to start and can ever find the time to do it? Why not come to our online workshop using zoom?? We'll have an hour and a half to work on creating and sharing new poetry, and hopefully you'll come away with something that leaves you inspired to share! Use the zoom link below (we start at 4) and we'll see you there! Topic: Poetry Writing Workshop Time: 04:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada) Join Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/7319333771?pwd=ckxFWHB6WEZrWVl5VEw0eFBhQzlJdz09 Meeting ID:[masked] Password:[masked] One tap mobile [masked],,[masked]#,,1#,[masked]# US (New York) [masked],,[masked]#,,1#,[masked]# US (Chicago) Dial by your location [masked] US (New York) [masked] US (Chicago) [masked] US (Germantown) [masked] US (Houston) [masked] US (San Jose) [masked] US (Tacoma) Meeting ID:[masked] Password:[masked] Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbrWSWxbMi

Past events (216)

Online Poetry Writing Workshop!

Online event

Photos (214)

Find us also at