Past Meetup

Bloomberg's Brad Stone & USA Today's Jon Swartz: The New Silicon Valley

This Meetup is past

110 people went


What does it take to change the world? Do companies like Uber and Airbnb have the answer?

Learn the secrets behind the rise of Silicon Valley’s most innovative companies as author and Bloomberg editor, Brad Stone joins us to discuss his new book, The Upstarts: How Uber, Airbnb, and the Killer Companies of the New Silicon Valley Are Changing the World (

Stone will be in conversation with Jon Swartz, USA Today’s San Francisco Bureau Chief and four-time Pulitzer Prize nominee, at Scribd’s San Francisco headquarters.

Attendance is free; fresh coffee and breakfast pastries will be served. Limited to the first 100 RSVPs.


8:30 - 9:00AM - Arrival & networking

9:00 - 10:00AM - #ScribdChat presents Brad Stone & Jon Swartz

10:00 - 10:30AM - Meet & greet

ABOUT BRAD STONE: Brad Stone is the senior executive editor for technology at Bloomberg News, where he oversees a team of 50 reporters and editors that cover high-tech companies, startups and internet trends around the world. In 2013, he published The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon. The book, a New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestseller, was translated into 26 languages and won the 2013 Financial Times/Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award.

ABOUT JON SWARTZ: Jon Swartz, USA TODAY’s award-winning technology reporter and Pulitzer Prize nominee, covers Silicon Valley trends, social media and profiles CEOs. A high-tech journalist since 1987, Swartz has written for Forbes, The (London) Independent, London Times, San Francisco Chronicle and New Orleans Times-Picayune. He has won numerous journalism awards and is a two-time finalist for the Loebs, the Pulitzers of business reporting. He has been nominated four times for the Pulitzer Prize.

ABOUT #SCRIBDCHAT: #ScribdChat is a series of intimate Q&As with leading influencers hosted at Scribd headquarters. Recent guests include Chuck Palahniuk, Colson Whitehead, Jeffrey Toobin, Laura Jane Grace, Jonathan Safran Foer, and Tim Ferriss.