What we’re about
Our Sketching Group is made up of architects and designers who gather every month in different locations throughout the Bay Area. We work on our sketching skills using the built environment like buildings, streets as our subject matter, and so on and share our experience with each other. Our group was formed in 2012, by me "Sassan Pedramrazi, AIA" to help young architects, designers and students to sketch and design their concepts and ideas on the paper and make visual conversation in their professional field.
Upcoming events (2)See all
- SKETCHING TOGETHER NOVEMBER328 Lomita Dr, Stanford, CA
When it first opened its doors to the public in 1894, the Leland Stanford Jr. Museum was unique among American museums, having been privately founded by a family with a general collection of world art on par with the major public museums being built at the time. For decades Leland Stanford and his wife Jane Stanford had traveled extensively, collecting American paintings and European Old Master paintings, as well as a wide array of antiquities from Egypt, Greece, Rome, Asia, the Americas, and other parts of the world. By the turn of the century, the Stanford museum, with its large archeological and ethnological holdings and art, was the largest privately-owned museum building in the world.
The 1906 San Francisco earthquake was an enormous disaster for the museum. The Roman, Egyptian and Asian galleries were destroyed, and three-quarters of the building was damaged beyond repair. The Oxford Assyriologist Archibald Sayce, recalling a visit to Stanford in 1917, wrote that "the rooms of its spacious Museum were still a scene of wreckage. The magnificent Greek vases it once contained had been hopelessly shattered; even the Egyptian mummies were torn and dismembered.": 84
The earthquake, along with the death of co-founder Jane Stanford the previous year, sharply curtailed the museum's budget, which had no endowment. Faculty and administration had little interest in restoring the museum, and the building and its collection fell into disrepair. Curatorial duties ceased.
The Thinker by Rodin in the rotunda of the new wing.
In 1917 Pedro Joseph de Lemos resigned as head of the San Francisco Art Institute to teach at Stanford, where he also served as Curator and Director of the Stanford University Museum and the Thomas Welton Stanford Art Gallery until 1945. He reorganized the museum and began a regular series of exhibitions at both venues. But during this period, the art collection was decimated by loss, sales, and gifts, and the poorly secured storage area became a quarry for local collectors and dealers. In 1945, after de Lemos' departure, the museum was officially closed to conduct an inventory of the art holdings.
The university's art department saw the inventory as an opportunity to divest the museum of works of art lacking aesthetic merit. An enormous accumulation of worthless material was disposed of, but so too were paintings and sculptures from the original Stanford family collection judged now to be of greater value than was believed in the 1950s, including works by Albert Bierstadt, William Bradford, Norton Bush, and Thomas Hill.: 22
In 1953, the Committee for Art at Stanford was founded with the intention of recruiting members and raising funds to reopen the museum, and in 1954, after nine years of stocktaking, the museum reopened.
Athena, by 19th-century Italian sculptor Antonio Frilli, presides over the marble vestibule.
In 1963, as part of the university's revitalization of the humanities under Dean Robert R. Sears, Professor Lorenz Eitner was instated as chair of the art and architecture department. Assisted by faculty, staff, and The Committee for Art, Eitner began to revive the museum. Over the next 25 years, galleries were gradually refurbished, collections were significantly strengthened, and a program of exhibitions, educational services, and publications was put in place. 1985 saw a major development when professor Albert Elsen worked with art collector B. Gerald Cantor and other donors to open the B. Gerald Cantor Rodin Sculpture Garden.