Hacking Housing: Innovative Approaches to Addressing Oakland's Housing Crunch

This is a past event

SPUR Oakland

1544 Broadway · Oakland, CA

How to find us

I'll be wearing Cohousing Coachman's cap and trying to get folks to talk about the innovations embedded in the cohousing model and how they can help.

Location image of event venue

Details

Oakland’s tech scene is growing faster than ever. More companies want to be part of Oakland’s vibrant community, creating a greater need for a housing market that accommodates a full range of Oaklanders. The tech sector has a responsibility to provide leadership to address the ongoing affordable housing crisis in the Bay Area. As part of Oakland's first Tech Equity Week, join the Kapor Center for Social Impact and SPUR for an evening of tech and community ideas about how Oakland can maintain its esteemed diversity while accommodating the projected population influx that the growing tech sector brings.

Free to the Public. Look for Raines and perhaps we'll get a drink afterwards. Not a cohousing-focussed event, but we'll do our darndest to get it on the table.

SPUR's Mission

Through research, education and advocacy, SPUR promotes good planning and good government in the San Francisco Bay Area.

What We Do

We are SPUR, the San Francisco Bay Area Planning and Urban Research Association. We bring people together from across the political spectrum to develop solutions to the big problems our cities face. With offices in San Francisco, San Jose and Oakland, we are recognized as a leading civic planning organization and respected for our independent and holistic approach to urban issues.

SPUR's work spans eight program areas: Community Planning (http://www.spur.org/spur-program/community-planning), Housing (http://www.spur.org/spur-program/housing), Disaster Planning (http://www.spur.org/spur-program/disaster-planning), Regional Planning (http://www.spur.org/spur-program/regional-planning), Economic Development (http://www.spur.org/spur-program/economic-development), Sustainable Development (http://www.spur.org/spur-program/sustainable-development), Good Government (http://www.spur.org/spur-program/good-government), Transportation (http://www.spur.org/spur-program/transportation)

Attendees (1)