• City Repair's 2021-22 Online & Home Study Urban PDC

    Online event

    INTRO: Welcome to the[masked] Urban Permaculture Design Course! This training opportunity delves into broadly-applicable and hyper-local strategies for personal, collective and land-based resiliency and wellness. This is especially valuable as we are being called to respond to these demanding and uncertain times and realize the need for us to radically reimagine our relationship to place and purpose.

    COURSE TOPICS:
    Topics fulfill the standard internationally-recognized 72-hour Permaculture Design Course curriculum, and includes additional hours on the specialty topics of urban permaculture, placemaking and collective liberation. We have also deepened our ‘design skills’ component of the course to provide more guidance around creating and communicating compelling designs with captivating graphics, perspective drawings, infographics and maps. This course will support you in weaving together broad-scale goals and place-specific strategies of caring for land and building community. We will introduce you to tools for understanding larger influential patterns of landform, watersheds, climate, and culture, as well as more local strategies including water harvesting, soil and plant care, perennial/food forest system design, appropriate/DIY technologies for storing and conserving energy, detoxifying and retrofitting the built environment, and rooting into place justice.

    WHO TAKES THE UPDC:
    The UPDC is broadly applicable, and therefore, relevant to anyone wanting to make meaningful change in their lives and learn or refine skills to help towards achieving this. The UPDC reaches core questions of our lives and habits, and participants frequently report life-changing results.

    INSTRUCTORS:
    Our teaching team is led by long-time City Repair organizers Matt Bibeau (Director of Educational Events) and Ridhi D'Cruz (Co-Executive Director & Anti-Oppression Facilitator) The course will also highlight many of the bioregion’s leading instructors and practitioners as guest teachers, half of which which are QTBIPOC as we realize City Repair's equity and inclusion goals.

    DATES AND TIMES:
    The virtual in-person class sessions will take place over monthly weekend sessions from November 2021 - June 2022 from 9am-12pm Pacific Standard Time (PST) each day and a mid-month Tuesday Design Lab session from[masked]pm PST. This year's dates are:

    Sat Nov 6 & Sun Nov 7; Tue, Nov 16
    Sat Dec 4 & Sun Dec 5; Tues, Dec 14
    Sat Jan 8 & Sun Jan 9; Tues, Jan 18
    Sat Feb 5 & Sun Feb 6; Tues, Feb 15
    Sat Mar 5 & Sun Mar 6; Tue, March 15
    Sat Apr 2 & Sun Apr 3; Tues, April 15
    Sat Apr 30 & Sun May 1; Tues, May 10
    Sat Jun 4 and Sunday Jun 5; Tue, June 21

    We're offering this certificate-bearing permaculture design course for $1000. You will need to RSVP here via the ticket/registration link in order to reserve your place in the course. A $250 deposit (the "ticket" price) is required at the time of RSVP. We are offering Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) scholarships, so please email us at [masked] for more information.

    RSVPing here will help you stay in the loop about course updates. To formally register, you will need to make a deposit payment through our Eventbrite payment page.
    Visit our course ticketing page for more info about these aspects of the course:

    << UPDC2021.eventbrite.com >>

    Register for the Open House: https://updc202122septopenhouse.eventbrite.com

    This link also offers information that will help answer your questions about these additional topics:
    ATTENDANCE REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION
    COURSE FORMAT AND PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS
    COURSE EXPECTATIONS FOR PARTICIPATION
    FINAL DESIGN PROJECT
    TECHNOLOGY & LANGUAGE SUPPORT
    COURSE FEE PAYMENT
    CANCELLATION POLICY