Skip to content

What we’re about

This meetup group’s purpose is to bring together Portland Metro Yogis who share the love of practicing yoga together, and sharing their experiences in yoga.

Seva (selfless sacrifice - Karma Yoga) is encouraged, and also to help each other prosper always, to live in abundance and absolute freedom - Kaivalya.

Please make a donation to help to keep Portland Metro Yoga alive, healthy, vibrant, and to help people connect with our yoga community. This is Karma Yoga, Seva.

Here is a link to a free translation of the Yoga Sutras.

Our group is for all people who love yoga, including yoga teachers, yoga students, and people who are new to yoga.

Yoga is a natural way of life, and our group vision is to encourage and support each other in living yoga every day.

It is important to respect each other, equally. We are real people, who are living honestly and truthfully on the path of yoga.

Make sure and spend time investigating what we have on our website. In addition to Meetups, we have Pages with information, Discussions, and Files that are available for download.

Please contribute to the Discussions and share your thoughts and experiences in yoga.

Post to the Message Board if you want to organize a yoga adventure, social or potluck.

Check the Calendar and suggest classes and events!

Let me know how I can help you on your path in yoga.

Namaste,Steve J Davis, RYT, LMT, BCTMB

Here is more info:

Raja Yoga is Bhakti Yoga, Karma Yoga, and Jnana Yoga. Hatha Yoga is a progression towards Raja Yoga. All yoga is one.

Yoga is all about your personal conduct on and off the mat. To progress in yoga, you must be aware of your thoughts, words, and actions, and how these affect others around you, and yourself. There are 8 limbs in yoga.

The 8-limbed path of yoga as written in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali is well-worth studying and applying always in your life. This is how you will progress in yoga.

8 Limbs from Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. Throughout all of the 8 limbs, and throughout all of the way of natural living, Love is the thread that informs, guides, and enlightens. Nurture love. Radiate Love. Accept Love.

Have absolutely no fear. Love all. Love informs, empowers all. Love is the Prime Mover of Life, in the Present.

Connect with all. All are equal. All people, all animals, all living beings. Cherish the Earth, the entire Universe and all Life.

Now then, we will discuss yoga.

Today, we will discuss the 1st two limbs of yoga in the Patanjali Yoga Sutras. There are 8 limbs. If you can do the 1st two limbs of yoga, the entire path of yoga will be revealed to you.

Each limb is consecutive, and concurrent. All aspects of every limb must be maintained to progress on the path of yoga.

1st Limb: Yamas, Restraints.

5 aspects of the 1st Limb.

Ahimsa, non-violence. Honor all as equal.

Satya, non-lying. Tell the truth, always, in every thought, word, and action. True allies will appear and help you to do your duty when this is perfected.

Asteya, non-stealing. Precious things, true wealth will come when this is perfected.

Brahmacharya, non-lusting. True love will blossom when this is perfected.

Aparigraha, non-attachment. Great responsibilities will be entrusted to you when this is perfected.

2nd Limb: Niyamas, Observances.

5 aspects of the 2nd Limb.

Saucha, cleanliness. The mind, body, spirit must be clean, organized, at peace, including the environment in which you live, your home, workspace, and everywhere.

Santosha, contentment. When cleanliness is achieved, then you are content, focused, at peace, not distracted. You are able to focus at the task at hand in the moment, and make decisions properly.

Tapas, discipline, determination. Tapasya, duty. When you are clean, organized, and at peace, you are disciplined, and you are able to do your work, your duty, without delay.

Swadhyaya, self-study. You came here to do a certain job. You must do this job sincerely. Observe how you are doing your job without any attachment, see yourself objectively, to see how you are doing at your duty, where you can improve. Accurate Perception and Accurate Memory are very important.

Ishwara Pranidhana, Devotion to all. You will be tested. Siddhis (powers) will come.


Steve Davis, RYT, LMT, BCTMB

Founder and Owner, Healing Light Yoga and Massage